What's new
What's new

CNC Machining Tools

seanfrodo

Plastic
Hello. I am a professor of Engineering and teach a basic machining class and a CNC class at a University level. I am outfitting my CNC vertical mill and turning center with some general tooling. In your all opinion what are some must haves in terms of cutting tools, inserts, holders, etc. Thank you!!!

mneuro

Cast Iron
I taught engineering students how to use the manual mill and lathe while I was still a student. So this is based on my limited experience working with students vs my professional career in production shops.

- Edge finder
-Coaxial indicator
-Standard side lock holders
-Standard collet holders
-6" vise
-Mirror set
-Tool set with standard wrenches, screwdrivers, and hex keys
-Deadblow hammer
-Basic inspection equipment

That list covers 90% of what students needed for their projects.

The group could probably give better info if you could share what type of engineering students you are working with, and what their projects will be. It would also help to know what the machine is and what kind of equipment/supplies you already have.

rklopp

Diamond
Reach out to the Johns Hopkins U SAE Mini-Baja team. They just went through this exercise for their new lathes and mill. It was mostly a student-driven effort, in which at least one of the students had experience as a manual and CNC machinist in at least four different shops and reached out to me at times for advice. There was a lot of flipping through the Travers, MariTool, and MSC web pages and catalogs looking for the right stuff at the best prices.

BOB-OO

Aluminum
Tools are completely dependent on the parts you will using to teach your students. Pick your parts and size of stock or the features you want to focus on then the tool choices will be easy.

CarbideBob

Diamond
Members Shop Supply Guru and exkenna come to mind for tooling up.