What's new
What's new

Contract Programmer >> I know you've seen this before...but I'm actually good :)

goooose

Hot Rolled
Contract Programmer >> I know you've seen this before...but I'm actually good :)

Yes gentleman, another one has popped up. I'm throwing my hat in the ring of contract programmers hoping to differentiate myself from the others who have posted similar threads before me. A quick what/when/where/why/how...

What I can do...Mills-2-5 axis (3+2 or 5 sim), Lathes 2-5 axis (3+2 or 5 sim) + sub . Ive worked with Fanuc/Haas and Mazak...transitioning to others will not be an issue.
When I can... I am currently transitioning from F/T grunt and P/T contract programmer to just F/T contract programmer, still have the 9-5 now so by contract is still P/T
Why...I'm a programmer, my blood is that green stuff from the matrix....Ive spent enough time infront of the machines to know where I want to be
How....well you send me a model and a print, then I send you a program, a setup sheet and an invoice...and then you pay me for the beautiful code you got.
Where..... I program where I am and send then to where you are...:)

Ok, but being serious now...Im about to dive in to this contract programming, Ive yet to decide on software (its between 2 right now), but that shouldn't matter to prospective clients, or will it?, Im really trying to gauge interest and thought Id start on this board first. Do many of you outsource programming? Have you had good results with the programs you've got back? Does the software its programmed in matter to you? Any other suggestions would be appreciated.

PS I dont like hotdogs enough to cook them all day so the cart is out
PSS Please John Weldon dont swear at me