What's new
What's new

Coolant bugs?

xyzzy

Aluminum
Greetings -

I've been using Cimcool 320Z without problems for a few years in my VMC. I run an aerator as well as remove tramp oil reasonably (I thought) frequently. Just looked in the bottom of the sump though with a flashlight and saw all sort of what look like white colonies the size of quarters. Fished one out, some sort of soft goo (not swarf.) The coolant doesnt smell, nor any obvious problems. On the other hand, this can't be good. Any suggestions to cure this without the pain of a full coolant changeover? (Here is hoping anyways!)

Thanks - Jon

lowdowncoyote

Plastic
Jon,

Not sure what you have growing. I have always joked that there are at least three new species growing in the sump. Does your sample die and change color if you expose it to UV light? Is it a reaction by product, i.e. a precipitate of some kind, or an actual biological colony? Are you cutting steel? I have heard of some iron eating bacteria that thrives in some coolants? I am fighting a battle with Hangsterferters S-500CF which seems to settle out of solution and carmelize on the surface of the liquid. My skimmers won't pick up the carmel 'flakes' that develop.

phiberden

Plastic
There are some " bacteria killers" for coolant, check with your suplier for the right one for your coolant.
We used to use that before filling up the coolant reservoir, and added a little every 2 or 3 months. No odor or things growing up in the tank so far....

We used DASCOOL coolant, and the bacterycide was called, "DASCOCIDE"

Mike_

Cast Iron
Jon,