What's new
What's new

cutoff and threading tool selection

DanielG

Stainless
I'm tooling up a lathe (flat-bed, CNC, 8" chuck) and need to select a cutoff tool and threading tool.

I'll start off by saying that I'm a mediocre machinist (though a good engineer). I don't do production work; it's mostly custom one-off parts for equipment we're building. We don't run machines very hard, and I'm willing to pay money to make my life easier.

For threading, I've used top-notch on a manual lathe. The prior owner of this CNC lathe used Iscar tools, so I had the Iscar rep in. He recommended their Penta line, which I haven't used before.
https://www.mscdirect.com/product/details/02987675
https://www.mscdirect.com/product/details/46669552

For cutoff, he recommended
https://www.mscdirect.com/product/details/59548594
https://www.mscdirect.com/product/details/76847888
this is a different style of insert than I've used at previous jobs for cutoffs. The other option, of course is HSS. I'm terrible at re-grinding things though, so I tend to like inserted tools.

My other thing to consider is toolholding. If I go Aloris, I'm right on the edge between CXA and CA. This machine had CXA on it previously, but didn't come with the toolpost. On the multifix side, I've read that it's much nicer, but again, I'm on the line between B and C. The issue I see with B size Multifix is that it can only take a 7/8" tall cutoff tool, which seems very limiting from what I've seen. The 26mm tall tool linked above will cut 3" diameter. The 7/8" tall tools seem to be for smaller diameters.

Anyone have any thoughts/suggestions?