What's new
What's new

Cutting 316L with long tools

QNelson18

Plastic
Hello, this is my first time posting. I am currently trying to machine 316L in an older (late 90's early 2000's-ish) Fadal VMC 4525 that has a cat40 spindle. I am trying to machine a total depth of 3.27 inches deep. I have broken 4 300$ cutters already in my attempts at doing this. I have gone through Helical trying to do this using their 5 flute 4" LOC endmill which broke after pulling out of an ER collet holder running 800sfm and .0027 FPT which before pulling out was actually cutting pretty well. Switched to a 7 Flute chip breaker tool from helical and used their recommended feeds and speeds. On the first tool it broke immediately when it touched material, called an apps engineer from helical and tried his recommendation and still broke after about 10 seconds in the cut. I was using an endmill holder for those tools. I currently have a kennametal kor5ds .750 dia. 5 flute 3.75 flute length and am now facing extreme chatter while cutting the part. I have tried 450sfm with .0045 FPT at a .037 RDOC, then down to 350sfm and .003 FPT at .05 RDOC, then after talking to tech support went to 450sfm and .0035 FPT at a .075 RDOC and still lots of chatter. I am using the 2d dynamic roughing toolpath in mastercam.

Any help will be extremely appreciated. I am at my wits end with this job.

Just wow. Where did you get those numbers? I used the Haas tooling website because I knew I could quickly come up with a stainless-tailored end mill somewhat matching your parameters. The longest 3/4" endmill they have for stainless is a 2.5 LOC 5-flute. It says 200-230 SFM at 0.0025" FPT. You're trying to take another 3/4" deeper than that?