What's new
What's new

DMG Mori NLX2500 calibrating machine Y zero

JacobRush

Plastic
I'm having an issue that initially presented as breaking tips off #2 center drills. after digging into the issue I discovered that when I put the tool on X0Y0 it is .010 high in Y so not on center. Other tool stations give me the same numbers so thats pointing to the machine y0 not being right. I'm new to this machine and the previous operator did have a crash that was bad enough to slightly deform the mounting lugs on a tool station so I'm guessing that's when this happened.

I'd be interested in any advice on the best way to dial this back in. There are Y offsets in the tool table, but I'm concerned that's going to generate geometric errors on live tools and such.

FWIW to work around the immediate center drill issue I aligned one of the drill flutes to align with the error in Y and backed off the feeds knowing it's basically a form tool at this point.

What control does your machine use?

If Fanuc, and Absolute Encoders (all your Servo Drives need battery backup) you simple put the Y axis where you want it, and reset home by flipping the APZ bit for the Y axis. (Look it up)

Alternately... If you have to Home the machine every time you turn it on you will need to adjust the Y axis Grid Shift to correct the error.

I think this should work fine, because you say all the turret positions give the same result.

In the mean time you could put a Y offset in the main Work Coordinate SHIFT register on your Work Offset page.

If it's something other then Fanuc... never mind. :-)
Although something similar is likely needed regardless of control brand.