What's new
What's new

Easily grind on a CNC using electroplated wheels

Drip

Plastic
Many shops don't have grinders, only CNC lathes or mills. I work as an application engineer for a small electroplated manufacturer and not a week goes by without me getting a request to grind on a CNC machining center. There are many reasons for these requests to grind - material type, accuracy, efficiency, etc. The beauty of plated wheels is that they don't require dressing, so they are easy to use on a CNC mill. Here are some of the things to pay attention to when grinding on a CNC:

Spindle speed - CBN electroplated works best at around 7000-8000 spfm, however, we have customers well below that who have had success. Diamond electroplated speeds are more forgiving - 4000-6000 sfpm generally is good.
Coolant - straight oil coolant is best for CBN, but water soluble will work. For electroplated diamond applications, water soluble is best
Finish requirement - Electroplated wheels generally give a rougher finish so oftentimes a rougher and finisher wheel is needed, but the cost of a strip and replate is only 60% of the cost of a new wheel so your abrasive costs, even with a two wheel setup, are low.

My intention would be to periodically post case histories. In the meantime, any questions, thoughts or comments will be answered promptly.

Can you show any examples of some grinding jobs done this way in a VMC? I have run into jobs where it could be a good solution, but the uncertainty factor has usually pushed us to go other directions.

Can you show any examples of some grinding jobs done this way in a VMC? I have run into jobs where it could be a good solution, but the uncertainty factor has usually pushed us to go other directions.
Yes, I willl post one or two in the next few days.

Another thing with electro plated wheels.