What's new
What's new

Fanuc Oi-TC simple question

jspivey

Aluminum
Some preface: I have some experience with Fanuc controls. We have a mill with a Fanuc Oi Mate MD control and another lathe with a Fanuc Oi-Tx (cant remember what it is exactly of the top of my head). I have ran both of these machines, the mill more than the lathe. I load programs on both machines through the USB ports. My point being that I have learned them both well enough to be functional at this point.

However, we recently got a new (to us) lathe with a Fanuc Oi-TC control that does not have a USB port, only a Compact Flash card port. After a little bit of messing with the control, I am not quite sure how to load a program as the procedure seems to be a little different from the other controls. So my question is, can someone give me a simple walkthrough on what to do. I would really appreciate it, as the manual that came with the machine is basically useless.

Attached is a picture of the control. I made it as far as viewing the program that was loaded onto the the Compact Flash card.

Thanks in advance.

Fanuc Oi-TC Control.jpg - Google Drive

I've never used that exact control. I wouldn't normally offer help on something I don't really know, but I can't imagine there are a lot of people on this site right now, so here's my guess. The first thing I'd do is rename the program to just O0001. No letters, other than the O in front, and no file extension. (delete the .TXT at the end)
Next, get back to the screen shown in the picture, and type:

O0001

Then push the EXEC soft key. If that doesn't work, type in the same thing, and try the F SET soft key, then push the EXEC soft key again. If that still didn't do it, push the left arrow soft key, and see if there are any useful looking buttons in that menu.

Good luck.

This is just from memory, i will have to check exactly what thew softkeys are called when i am in front of the controller tomorrow.

1. Enter manual guide i
2. Mode switch to edit