What's new
What's new

Fusion 360 RIPS OFF subscription customers by removing multiaxis tool paths

SeymourDumore

Diamond
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Location
CT
For what is almost a full week now, shops and technicians with the latest and greatest $10,000 SnapOn diagnostic tools can't actually use them.

Can you post a link to that?
I can see references to that a good amount of the SnapOn site is down, but is there a link to the field diagnostic tools being affected?
 

BugRobotics

Hot Rolled
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Location
Denver, CO
So what hasn't been mentioned in this thread is that the Fusion 360 team is contacting individual users and making sure their accounts still have access to these tools. They are not saying this publicly. My (3rd hand) understanding is that the deal with ModuleWorks is a revenue share with the Manufacturing Extension, and ModuleWorks wanted to see a definitive split between 3+2 axis and 4/5 axis.

If you have a multi-year subscription, or are dependent on the multi-axis tools, Autodesk is proactively reaching out and making arrangements for you.

(Also, and this is ironic given the discussion - Snap On's entire network infrastructure is down right now, and has been since Thursday. For what is almost a full week now, shops and technicians with the latest and greatest $10,000 SnapOn diagnostic tools can't actually use them.)

Well, they are kinda saying it publicly. Go check out that thread over on Autodesk. I have a fundamental problem with that approach but whatever, they are at least not gonna screw over customers if they reach out. Sounds like they have maybe adjusted again and are being proactive which I totally support.

I don't have a single shred of proof but I believe this is all due to the contract they signed with Moduleworks like you said.
 

gkoenig

Titanium
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Location
Portland, OR
Can you post a link to that?
I can see references to that a good amount of the SnapOn site is down, but is there a link to the field diagnostic tools being affected?

Reddit - Dive into anything

Lots of posts of guys saying their ShopKey accounts are broken, and Apollo diagnostics tools aren't updating. Other tools are totally locked out.

This has got to be a cyber attack, and my guess is that the FBI is asking them to not talk about it proactively. Only way they could possibly stay silent without the SEC coming after them for not reporting material impacts on the business to shareholders.
 

Marvel

Aluminum
Joined
Jan 14, 2019
Location
Minnesota
Dude, what the hell is the matter with you?
What is your beef with perpetual licenses?
Tell me ONE SINGLE CAD or CAM application that was not born and raised by perpetual licenseholders?

Sure, once a product matures and reaches critical mass, it is also becoming harder and harder to provide "shareholder value" ( as if that is what should make the world go round )
but that doesn't mean it all has to switch to SaaS or else death is upon it!

I do not and have never liked the idea of subscriptions in the CAD/CAM world. I like knowing that if the day comes I quit paying my annual maintenance on my perpetual license I still own my software, yeah I can't upgrade to the latest and greatest but I can still use it. There's a lot of companies using years old software no issues. I have a couple subscription based software, one is Adobe products, its $39.99 a month, $480/annually, no big deal. I was recently considering a switch to NX and the quote was $15k for 3 year subscription and at any point if I dont continue I lose all functionality of the software. That to me is a lot of money not really wasted but in a sense I feel its wasted.


Absolutely!

I'll argue the business case for subscriptions all day, but any software that requires a connection to a remote server is a dumbdumb investment. Especially right now.

Its 100% a financial business strategy, nothing else. Every software I own less CAMWorks has gone to subscription based. My issue with CAD/CAM going this way is the price point, its too damn expensive annually to never actually own the software. Subscriptions bring CAD/CAM companies more annual revenue, it forces that shop that doesn't care to upgrade to the latest and greatest to pay.


Example - QuickBooks.
I own 3 business, one being a machine shop. I have the Desktop version of QuickBooks, I do have to upgrade every 3 years due to one feature not being supported after 3 years, but QuickBooks Desktop is $299 and if you buy it at the right time you can get it 50% off. So it cost me $150-300 every 3 years to use for 3 businesses. They tried to get me to switch to their online version, which amounts to $70/month per business, $2520 annually over 3 businesses. Well I don’t think they many people so now they are making the Desktop version a subscription, last I saw around $350/annually, which I can only assume will increase. They are damn near tripling their annual revenue.

On business side financially, I applaud and fully understand, great way to increase their revenue.
 

BT Fabrication

Hot Rolled
Joined
Nov 3, 2019
completely agree.

its a pain for subscriptions where internet connection is manditory, as we also all know, the internet isn't secure at all, like wi fi cameras that can be easily hacked.

soon enough complanies will get the boot from another company that will fill the need for non subscription based software.
 

gustafson

Diamond
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Location
People's Republic
Even my current quickbooks requires me to sign in occasionally, so I doubt it will ever be truly permanent

may have to hit ebay for old versions if they keep this up

unless they change math so they can keep selling software
 

Marvel

Aluminum
Joined
Jan 14, 2019
Location
Minnesota
Even my current quickbooks requires me to sign in occasionally, so I doubt it will ever be truly permanent

may have to hit ebay for old versions if they keep this up

unless they change math so they can keep selling software

I have a few older version of QB all the way back to 2011, may have to go backwards! My 2019 just recently started having me sign in every couple months. One of my businesses I don't do any accounting until first week of January and import my bank feed and it's all automated through rules to categorize all transactions, but that feature isn't supported after 3 years and has forced me to upgrade!

My CAMWorks is still a perpetual license, I know they offer some subscription options but if they ever fully make the move, I'm going to somehow make sure my current seat keeps whatever version it ends at available, another reason I opted for a dongle key!
 

Stirling

Cast Iron
Joined
Dec 11, 2013
Location
Alberta canada
my problem is not the cost, or the changing of structure/services. it is the removal of services during a PAID for duration that i feel is compleatly unacceptable. sure, you want to shift it over to a paid feature thats fine, but dont take it away until my subscription is over. if that reuires you upgrading me for the durratio of the subscription so be it. at the time of renewal ill decide if those added services are a contuniing value and ill then gladly pay. i am overall happy with fusion. but tdont take durring a paid session. thats simply wrong
 

Kekenn

Plastic
Joined
Mar 30, 2022
We are another victim. We bought fusion 360 because of the 5axis simultaneous strategies.
I thought that it was possible to earn a living honestly but apparently it does not apply to companies like autodesk..
 

Chip-n-eye

Plastic
Joined
Apr 6, 2022
If it seems to good to be true then its probably not. Autodesk has a long history of jacking their customers around.
 








 
Top