What's new
What's new

Gear Identification Help/Confirmation

JasonPAtkins

Hot Rolled
I'm a novice gear-er, having only dealt with calculating such things once in the past, in order to fix a lathe feed gear.

The short story is that I'm trying to introduce a roughly 10:1 reduction into a mortar mixer. I'm helping set up a factory over here to make drinking water filters to help with the many waterbourn diseases that give people chronic diarrhea. The mixer is spinning too fast for the clay/sawdust/water mixture we use to make the ceramic water filters. Rather than getting the mixture to ball up and roll over and over, it just smears the clay against the wall of the pan, packing it denser and denser with every revolution, until it eventually stalls. We may also need to change the mixer paddle geometry, but by watching videos of other factories around the world making these same kind of affordable ceramic water filters, we know they're successfully mixing closer to 6rpm rather than the 60rpm we're getting.

The current solution is not the best one available. I admit that, but ask for your help anyway. An enclosed worm gear reduction unit would be much more appropriate, much tougher, and last a lot longer. I don't have a way to get one of those right away. Perhaps if this solution works for a year or two, that will be the proof of concept and give us time to send the worm drive over.

The current mixer "gear train" is: Honda gas engine with some reduction built into it -> dual belt sheave pair -> pinion gear to big gear pair -> mixer paddle shaft.

Mixer diagrams for this model are here, in case that explanation isn't clear.

I'm proposing to add an intermediate shaft on pillow bearings that would change the arrangement to be this: Honda gas engine with some reduction built into it -> dual belt sheave pair -> small 14 tooth 12DP gear to 144 tooth 12dp gear ->pinion gear to big gear pair -> mixer paddle shaft.