What's new
What's new

Getting an ST30 ATC/MC

xa-mont

Hot Rolled
Joined
Apr 4, 2014
Location
Victoria, Australia
So upon further investigation (in the light of day), the spindle drive is a 22kw unit (seems about right for this big rig) with a separate 7kw drive presumably for the live tooling?

1l476zrCIkwbpnfaCgY96MZ7cGLjm86vxQsileUAay9_Y59FPHVkub8fyYsrtnBc1eWerjHHxJPi5Dl0vU305jgBPwqt7a237HGzX8U1Uo_NzRJtMOt4oWeLH6bZeAtpS8Oel9jvtPFe36Tghjar0YVZOsaKeXXXb7sXMWIaAhvj09MNhzXtKv-Ltgz2l9zyw3EEL_WjhEMZKnYyHGmTqaakqoggHuNPwsIZZwVegmvz3QaUt9FHTgU7AdmHLQ9f0LibmcWmf_9A8ehNE30KBYwShnZCHU8GxRuaQnmJXQ_WQ_ezHXiPn4rXFc17Og-g1WiU5Dwg1mpA6lv7m4k2VaHwJ5FrD7SCZebjUeKdrJcXVaqiRefS-djpbqlYnTDBYwYwKQDsn7WvzAeEamGaq451JePEX1lV1ulTW1vjL4FcdToFU0fmiRWHthA406BvJnuWR8vciAqWGv1NrYx7XDjsP1eHa_LLmYDedbgX2G7ErsITME_-rQWMD7Gvevv_XQAIXmTXR7vgYZOjgOIXOZV9Js5HsGR3kJisY_ARxEtfR7DLxs7CPrG_UtkDWiSNLBgJofca_FnTBIeVaPbkrw4Jq6CkgYf-wtdqz94F=w687-h915-no

y5pf06PiazSZd_KbfqsTl3VzJD0wARqRteuJNOQTikCgxZIb7hVpB-upey5SiBOsMFCPPbEUcS5gfr_Ip8awWxJ5DlR-drUCB4_Nvf78tI6cstywVadUCy6S_sCN03wnJu0WawC9OTYusyfsY9TJujsJjcG7CFVUZxQlvb4VonZM87_JsQju-uyy_mhwCWCEuLMK2Td5YeP57p2p8oQSuX33mQBjDBKE3uRVtQfydJITByrm_7EHtW3RAzfEUZLu7i8UOGlV3T-94KYA8lmlxV03fa4Dz8mg1Tll7Dqjwb-z_1tKsVJjz7vFyp1n-Z6X9fmd3jrb5SkpkIBh5Vlvi9L699FU6wgKP4aT9GapOMZVxIknAdQjm-JzmYQgH5pglnkMVQSiW1f8hmtjEbQ1XYlAy3g0Gd2mefiF2y6P4Da2l1doQEG_TACbmgtbDOJ1K9JMUjq0gRIqOioqMEhuUOGwUuVTbmAbNewiRqY6-VEjFt4xdAGyd5cFAkbBY7XoqfHG5aRSqxrUQP1k4IWX2cUCXojQ4H3rL7L_xWWPM2f9OCqxJs7spJuvB_NnqCK2zc_PUym4lsG1inSA95WJPCbb3RqwSqY7p-1HSiC5=w687-h915-no

iizLZ9LnrLgwsIdOEXw3N-qjfTXxmIrhfVlJ7a-emhVMn_AX6F9oeARSghUNMfXMA2TOLHyF9MgESLWLWv70mbd_P_NWgpHLWq8vvxxI2mETOnB3DHEbMwryrEAvq2AWK8aGeAak5zHgtSXVVOK6st_fM10Wj4urllhUy_Pizut_hvwfCVF6nNIGK7MK4ysswoSo1sQ25jzMOuqcTubgptKaIVe-u7PydkcWjR1RVykntxzWfk-jyRddNe6RgSqgN3LLAtoaN4zRAOA2gJeUtxLzoEvQUKBS39QyguzihFut41vtOeqrg0c1a_iz6OupAhnYQbkgYEl1bdqyyZYHz_uREwdwRV5HKzG95_B-34Lz5dEXNrrzJhsVZqEeOZuHm5ezQAjH3R3u641weW4OVE5LoHsQbgmbS5JZi2XWkFwmJ2AqPYrlfdHWypC0TKGCVDTSbuPEjpiJ35ALVQNNpcI_tUjr8YfW0UvEM73jkGfV-MhVn-2KDlAKxTWp2Uom83znfsDD6lkiTTMrnn_3T1PxlUqMTme3KFHB17H5G9RyIytrZYsQFMT8fzIra1xuojqCXgLdIFO92Foyb25cxYo1WFS69u1XMql_4ur9=w1220-h915-no


I've input all of the parameters that i had in the electrical cabinet, and it's gotten me a step further, in that the hydraulics etc start up on power up, however the list doesn't have the K parameters (whatever they are, they're not on my T2 QT10N) and i'm still getting a couple of alarms and still cannot move anything, except for the tailstock quill, that i was able to move out, but not back in :P

cKoLiqS8ffaeVXf1TKGlVr_jsiGrUS7FKkRBZ1Cni3_UyNG_OvE_XjgoGjsikqm5ZUJkPu_XthpM4V-mHMqcYOqah11a6Rg9Ucs8M4VvehoQ6cXk3hC5GHn0FDkLkvfVY-bii43z3UxQYzos5QlXoS576KPd35kIzQRtgYGLZCfBUXEkS4zmeicS6FtBFsS5iHQrKsMD6qtwZc-OpigCn6pMO7djsmYxoZpFjtvmEx3yXOatvPLZYf71B8dPSvhpRTBQO53g4zHrFdIbWR3l5BJ1UaMXLQ1sFVlSHsYddaF5mRMy2ltkCSci3ygBSA_X_24YFZufpapV7YrchCDgFle5qh6rx830CBAqKNIrGWlIHCRj5TvFw_ay9XRwSWrXP5pg2WmAs1kUlorefITA1CAWGWr82UTkY39c08q47Kc4lCW7O37aPmrXpJFMJRQUkNEc4x3mGkkqTSXK94TUA-sit1lqqkxInv6LtnoJJtU1JekrbjFcEp5l_XWhUmuNo__ifHLWDNO01r8WgMzo65yl6-WqGeQoXzp5k8bzUfGowp3UBsWugqaqMUL624NKUpgZk8o02b9IoshzqjhwCgBeJycrrz9j1nVrL-JE=w1220-h915-no


I've contacted john hart (aus mazak distributor since forever) to hopefully get a parameter list from them and possibly some service history of the machine.

I'll also call the previous owner to see if they have any manuals that are specific to this machine (they had another st30atc/mc as well, but presumably they don't both have upgraded/changed spindle drives)

If anyone is able to help with K parameters it would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Trav
 

xa-mont

Hot Rolled
Joined
Apr 4, 2014
Location
Victoria, Australia
I'm 1 more step closer.

I spoke to a repair bloke experienced with old Mazaks and he said i don't need the K parameters. so I reinitialised the whole thing and put the parameters in again. I now don't have the parity alarm. i still have the battery alarm (that wont clear) and if i try to move an axis i get a "218 axis move misoperation" error.

I checked the TRA31 drive and i have 2 LEDs lit - the 3rd and 4th. On my M2 mill (same drives) these light up until the controller is started up and then the first 3 LEDs light up - so obviously something isn't happening that should me... any tips anyone?
 

benganboll

Hot Rolled
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Location
Sweden Östersund
Does it sounds like it tries to move or do you get the alarm directly?

I can see your machine does not have the EIA/ISO option, if you need it I can help you add it.
 

benganboll

Hot Rolled
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Location
Sweden Östersund
I will post my parameters and check X Z drive status leds.
I replaced all my batteries on my 4 Mazaks (QT10N T2 (Sold), QT10ATC/MC T3, ST30ATC/MC T3 & MP620 T32-6) with 3xAAA NIMH with long cables so any leakage will not damage the boards.
nimh-3xaa-batteri-3-6v-1100-mah.jpg
 
Last edited:

wippin' boy

Diamond
Joined
Sep 14, 2005
Location
il.
acis move misop could be the thing thinks the turret (live tool chain) is opened up
that machine will not work unclampef
 

xa-mont

Hot Rolled
Joined
Apr 4, 2014
Location
Victoria, Australia
acis move misop could be the thing thinks the turret (live tool chain) is opened up
that machine will not work unclampef
One of the things I actually am able to get it to do is unclamp and clamp the turret.

I was thinking it could be the battery alarm still messing with it all. I remembered when my vqc comes up with battery alarms, it won't even start hydraulics until the alarm is cleared (batteries obviously aren't terrible as it clears as soon as you hit reset)

Sent from my G8141 using Tapatalk
 

xa-mont

Hot Rolled
Joined
Apr 4, 2014
Location
Victoria, Australia
AWWWWWWWW YISSSSS!!! VICTORY!!!!!

I'm back from my holiday to Iceland, and i've thrown new batteries on all of the boards and I have more movement than before! I can home and move X and Z just fine, can run the spindle in all 3 gears, can run the live tooling (up to 1500rpm, so its obviously set up for the higher torque, so surprise considering most of the live holders are tapping holders with taps in them) I can extend and retract the tailstock spindle... HOWEVER there are still some things that i cant do...

Here's the list:
- I can't do anything with the C axis - I can't even switch into c axis mode.
- I can't move the tail stock body... which is annoying because it's out in the middle of the bed.
- I'm getting a slideway lube alarm - the lube motor is warm, so i assume it's running, however the slideways that i can see are dry, so it's not getting there somehow.
- I have no idea how to program any live tooling stuff :P


Oh also - how do i remove a tool to put a new one in?
 








 
Top