What's new
What's new

Going from Fusion 360 cam to NX cam, where are simple workflow tutorials?

Wo-jack

Plastic
I am a machinist in a one man prototype machine shop. I mostly do one off prototypes, custom fixtures, and part modifications.
I have been using fusion 360 for over 7 years. I have the fusion cam set up with templates and tool libraries to make programming new parts fast.
Our company mainly uses NX and I would like to switch over to NX cam. I understand NX has built in tutorials and I have looked through some of them. However I wish there was a simple work flow to understand how to streamline programing new parts and create templates. I have been unable to find any good tutorials online. Am I missing something? Is there a basic workflow. A to b to c to d. That I am not grasping. Also my company does not want to pay for training time and expects me to just learn on the job as I go. But I feel this will bring my one man machineshop to a hault.

updatedsecurity

Aluminum
Hello.

The template process in nx is difficult and complicated compared to fusion. This video shows it
. When I ran nx I would just copy and paste the operations I liked into a blank document and then copy and paste them out when I needed to reuse them. This seemed to work. I would say that i really like NX compared to fusion as it was a lot more stable for me and code was great. Also their adaptive and deburring paths are fantastic.

There is also in NX a teach and find features function. This was something I never really used. I think the guy of the video above has an explanation

burdickjp

Aluminum
Siemens has extensive documentation and online training material, though it is often hard to find specific things in it.

Most NX resellers offer training. The curriculum is set by Siemens and the resellers just walk through the syllabus. It's not bad. Many will also gladly answer questions or help you figure out how to use NX to do what you're trying to do. They want your money, after all.