What's new
What's new

Good day for me,hard way to go for the others.

Tommy-D

Aluminum
> I want to thank everyone on here that has helped me at some point or another,because thanks to the help solicited here,I graduated with Machinist I on Thursday. But I would like to relate some fairly serious concerns that have surfaced in recent weeks and months.

I posted early on in my time here about the change in instructors last August. My early impression of the new instructor has changed for the better in some ways,and substantially dimmed in others.

I will give him major props in some of the things that have been improved and created since the change.

He got all of our new equipment up and running,and working on getting the older stuff that is down back running. :D

Last year at this time,the old instructor had 4 new students starting the May session,giving him 9 total including myself. This coming May,the new guy will have a total of 25,including several new high school kids,a couple guys that were laid off recently and taking on a new trade,and a couple that have a few years in shops doing production-type work on manual machines,and want/need to learn CNC. Also,he will have only the 3rd female I've ever heard of associated with this course. So despite his faults,he IS doing something right.

He has lightened up considerably on his "no loaned tools" policy,out of neccessity,he has nearly as much personal gear as the tool crib does. He's not freaking out over a busted 1/4-20 tap :angry: a youngster broke anymore,because he corrected the fault that allowed a completely green student to use a tap without supervision and initial guidance. :toetap: Those of us that have been there a while also stepped in and helped.