What's new
What's new

Hardinge HLV-H Lathe Motor

legallowayjr

Plastic
Joined
Nov 18, 2021
I have a customer with a Hardinge HLV-H lathe who wants a magnetic motor starter added for anti-restart purposes. They are powering it with 208vac. They say thats its a 1.5 HP motor but cannot determine the amperage of the motor. Anyone have any information on the motors in these lathes?
 

Mark Rand

Diamond
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Location
UK Rugby Warwickshire
It should not be neccessary, The push buttons on the original control are momentary contact, The contactors hold on while power is there, but drop out with no power and will not reclose without the buttons being pressed.
 

L Vanice

Diamond
Joined
Feb 8, 2006
Location
Fort Wayne, IN
I think all HLV-H lathes have magnetic starters from the factory. The OEM motors are two-speed, so they have two different current ratings depending on the motor speed. Overload protection is built into the lathe controls, so an external starter only needs to have more capacity than the total maximum rating for the lathe, which is more than the main motor rating because of the additional electric features.

Larry
 

FredC

Titanium
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Location
Dewees Texas
What they said.

If you really need an amp reading because you are replacing an missing electrical box or something really strange and you live near San Antonio send me a Private Message and you can bring your Amp Probe over and check mine under load and when starting.
 

thermite

Diamond
What they have ALL said.

So long as the Hardinge is undamaged / unaltered, the exact fit to the need is already built-in.

If a supplementary starter is to be added upstream to tick a box on some pedant's clipboard, the NEMA sizes are published. Here's an example:

NEMA size - Wikipedia

AFAIK, you could use a size "0", leaving the finer-granularity to the built-in's as to protecting against any actual fault.
 

car2

Stainless
Joined
Sep 19, 2009
Location
Apex, NC
One thing which is a bit non-safety compliant is that if you have the spindle control handle in either slow or fast when the pod power button is is turned on, the spindle starts. I put a sticker on the power-button to remind me to check that the spindle lever is in the "off" position, before turning the power on. As others have said however, the relay will not restart until the power button is pressed again (but better check the spindle on/off lever...). (there are tortoise and hare speed-indicator stickers on several of my machines, courtesy of the nieces...)

IMG_7135.jpg
 

jim rozen

Diamond
Joined
Feb 26, 2004
Location
peekskill, NY
One way around the re-start issue is to require more than operation to get the contactor in the power box to re-close. Putting a couple of latching, NC epo buttons in series with the hold-in coil does this. It requires clearing the button (twist) *and* hitting the start button to bring the power back on. One button alongside the speed control panel, and one by the tailstock end of the chip pan, as an example. It's low voltage control wiring - plastic corrugated flex conduit.
 








 
Top