What's new
What's new

Hardinge HLV-H, Trying to get some info on this machine.

EBA

Plastic
First off, this is my first time posting here, my name is Ed I am from Canada and working as a mold Maker in a small family owned shop.
I recently acquired an Hlv-h, serial HLV-H-14739-T, I was wondering if any of you guys can help me as to when this machine was manufactured. It's in really good shape. Esp the bedways. Cross slides and carriage ways are very nice. Just a little right on the compound way. But I think it maybe the fact that the machine has been sitting a while. Any tips on how to prep tha machine would be much appreciated.
I've cleaned up the machine and is looking really good. Added some waylube for the bed and i havent gotten ro refill the transmission oil as its looking low.
Planning on taking the dials and handles out to clean them same with the tail stock.
The DRO is not getting power so gonna have to get that checked. I plugged it independently and it's showing E5 on the screen. It's an accurate master TP. I just downloaded the manual. Haven't read it yet. So any tips on setting that up would be greatly appreciated!
Just got the machine 2 weeks ago and I just powered it up this week. Everything works so far.
Thanks in advance guys!

Attachments

• 20240208_153646.jpg
    20240208_153646.jpg
    7.3 MB · Views: 49
  • 20240213_150258.jpg
    20240213_150258.jpg
    3.3 MB · Views: 48
Look up replacing BiJur metering units. They are under the black plate on the back of the saddle. Remove the aluminum distributer and you may need to put a vise grip on the round cast iron plugs. Then slide a screw driver in the vise grip slot and pry out the rusty copper tube. Clean out the lube hole. Best to take off the saddle to blow out the lube holes to the saddle. I love Hardinge and have rebuilt several over the years!

The following is not likely to happen, but just so you are aware.