What's new
What's new

Hardinge Re-shoring Turning / Milling Machinery

Ox

Diamond
IM/HO it is more of a "Shoring" campaign than "re" shoring, as they never built mills that I know of in the US. Maybe they did some final assembly and inspection at first, but before long I think they imported directly to the dealers. Same with the entry level turning machines as far as I know.

They did build the Cobra's here - back in the day, but since the early naughts, I think the only machines coming out of Elmira have been the flagship lathes, and that's it.

With that said - I think that the iron coming out of Taiwan is VERY stout. Comparing similar machine to my old '80's Cinci VC series, and my chum's 90's and early naughts Cinci Arrows and Sabres, the C frame is MUCH bigger! Rails a mile wide.... Real deal shtuff!

I cannot compare to anything else - as I have no experience with anything else.

So, anyhow, I seen a small writ in the new Production Machining Magazine last night, and while I cannot find anything about it on the hardinge site, Thomas Register has a nice page on their site.

Not that there is any details to speak of, just waving the flag over here for finally another US option!
Bounce.gif

Production Machining March 2021 Page 8

Machine Tool Maker Hardinge Reshoring from Taiwan to New York

Machine Tool Maker Hardinge Reshoring from Taiwan to New York

Andy SzalDec 30, 2020
Share:

Welcome to Thomas Insights — every day, we publish the latest news and analysis to keep our readers up to date on what’s happening in industry. Sign up here to get the day’s top stories delivered straight to your inbox.

750px.png

A Pennsylvania maker of machine tool equipment and technology announced plans to relocate manufacturing currently conducted in Taiwan to its existing facility in upstate New York.