What's new
What's new

heat treatment opinions

eqshop9689

Plastic
Hello,

I am new to heat treating and i have a few things to heat treat. I will send them out to a heat treat facility. How would you heat treat these items?:

A punch and die set made out of D2 tool steel.(this die set will be blanking out 1.820" round 6061 discs 3/16" thick.)

Several hand held mechanics punches made out of S7 tool steel. Used for heavy equipment brake part replacement bushings of various size and material types. The mechanic will hold these in hand and use a hammer on them.

A couple S7 punches that will go in a hand held air hammer for removing old brake bushings.

ok thanks!

Steve

I’m not a press tool maker but I’d assume the D2 parts would need through hardening,

https://www.uddeholm.com/files/PB_Uddeholm_sverker_21_english.pdf

The link for the uddenholm sverker 21 is their version of D2 which won’t be far from what you have.

Those punch sets might need hardening like a punch, where it’s hardened and tempered back on the tip but left soft on the end that’s striked with the hammer.

And the air hammer type punches sound like they’d be fine through hardened.

You can probably google a material data sheet for s7 and make your own mind up but that’s my opinion

I think OP needs to be more worried about the temper than the HT.

There are charts available with temper colours, hardnesses and their general purpose applications. It might also be in the MH somewhere also.

Last edited:
You need to be sure the punch wont shatter or chip when hit with a hammer,and through hardening isnt it....this why punches and drifts are left soft and only the cutting edge hardened........any old machinists book will show the correct method of hardening punches and chisels for hammer work.

Talk with the heat treat vendor.

tell them what you just wrote here.

They will give you hardness numbers, file them for the next job.