What's new
What's new

HELP - Computine Horizontal Mill Table Feed

Apostle

Plastic
Hi Guys,

I am stumped! I have a Sheldon No. 0 Horizontal Milling Machine on its way to my shop. While I'm pretty familiar with many machine shop operations (lathe, vert milling, welding, etc), a horizontal mill is new to me. I've had very little experience running one.

I've been readying myself for making chips shortly after its arrival. I"m having a problem in determining how to compute a reasonable table feed rate.

This Sheldon mill has x-axis feed rates of: 0.0011, 0.0023, 0.0046 and 0.0094 inches per spindle revolution. To compute the proper feed, the following formulas are provided in handbooks:

IPR (inches per revolution) = N (# cutter teeth) x F (cutter feed rate per tooth, a table look up value)

Now, RPM's are computed as: [CS (cutter speed, table lookup)x(4)]/D (diameter of cutter)

Finding the table feed value for a 4" side-tooth HSS cutter with 72 teeth, cutting a low to medium carbon steel (CS~80) yields a spindle RPM of 75 RPM. The "F," or feed in inches per tooth from the table look-up is a range from 0.002" - 0.007". Using a middle value of say 0.004", the math yields a table feed rate of 0.290 inches per spindle revolution. That represents a rate of over 30x my highest feed of 0.0094"/revolution.

I'm missing something BIG here ..these forumlas do not take into accoute the depth of cut or the HP rating of the motor. I'm stumped and I cannot find the answer. Is it possible these comps are made for a HUGE mill with a "MUCHO-HP" motor, unlike my tiny 1 hp motor (3 phase motor driven from a VFD) ??

Any and all comments are welcomed..

Regards,

Puzzled Mike in Virginia
mike at w4xn dot com

johnoder

Diamond
Say the Sheldon was making 200 RPM and the feed was on the .0094 setting

Multiplication gets you 1.88 inches per minute

If the cutter had 12 teeth, that would be a chip load of .00078" per tooth