What's new
What's new

Help with an EDM machine

jddfuentes

Plastic
Hello! Greetings from Argentina.
I'm a student in Mechanics Engineering and I'm currently doing a internship at CNC Lab (the University has mill, lathe, EDM). I'm having some questions about a machine which model is SHENZHEN FIRST DK7740FZXM (it's rebranded but I figured out to find the real name). The questions are:

-Does this controller have a code similar to G00? In the manual doesn't say anything (only G01 moves) but the movement is very slow when it's not cutting (40 μm/s is configured because if it's faster than 60μm/s may break the wire)
-What kind of electrode uses this machine? I'm searching for a replace because the wire is cutting also the electrode and the manual doesn't say anything either.

I'm new in this forum and I'm sorry if I broke any rule.

Anyways, thanks for your time and I'm hoping for your answers.

Goodbye. Have a nice day.

Edit: I forgot to upload a picture of the electrode.

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 2.23.39 PM.jpg

And there is a picture of the machine itself

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 2.23.38 PM.jpg

Last edited:
Hi jdfuentes:
Your question doesn't give us much to work with but I will try anyway:

I am guessing from some of what you say that you have a wire EDM machine, not a sinker EDM machine...is that correct?
If that is true, you can use several kinds of electrode wire but the most common is hard brass wire, and the most common diameter is 0.25mm.
You need to know what wire guides you have...each size of wire needs the correct guides.

The traverse rate you are describing is typical for wire EDM machines when they are cutting 50 mm of steel...around 2.4 mm per minute.
Your rapid traverse rates (G00) should be around 500 times that so about 1200 mm per minute.
It is different for every machine, but these are common traverse rates.

Your G00 speed should be about the same as the speed when you jog an axis.