What's new
What's new

Hendey Lathe 16X8

oldironpeddler

Plastic
I am very new to this so here is what have. I bought a 16x8 Hendey Lathe at an estate sale. All I know about it is that I wanted it and I now own it. When I went to look at it. I was told it was wired to run but it had been disconnected from the box, so I could not see it run. After I bought it I came home and learned a lot here by reading different forums. I believe it is a 1920's or 30's just by looking a pictures posted. The motor sits underneath the frame with pulleys. Here is where I get concerned. When I went back to make arrangements to pick it up, it came with some extra parts, and not in a good way. I have figured out that the parts go on the side and housed a clutch, I think. I say this because it has a fork for a throw out bearing, that is what it looks like to me. I do not have any shaft for clutch or pulleys. I know something is missing, just not sure what. I am hopeful that when I go back to pick it up to look for the other parts. It appears this old guy never got rid of anything, so I am hoping they are some where in the shop. I have included some pictures of the lathe. The lighting isn't so good and the extra parts. Any help with what I need to look would be great. Also can these parts still be bought. Of course the main question is do I have a lathe I can repair and use or a nice yard ornament for my shop. I would really appreciate any help.

I also just got a Universal #1 Horizontal belt driven Mill with a Lima motor, and a Webb Milling Machine with a Champ base. I really do want to learn how to use these older machines. Thanks again for any help
Lathe Small.jpgLathe Parts 1.jpgLathe Parts 2.jpg

johnoder

Diamond
Its a EBM or ECM - which refers to Enclosed Belt Motor or Enclosed Chain Motor. The second scan gives an idea of what is in that leg under the headstock. Third scan side view

Attachments

• Scan 01_1.jpg
    Scan 01_1.jpg
    162.7 KB · Views: 16
  • Scan 06.jpg