What's new
What's new

Holbrook c Model 10 Lathe electrical problems

Ray Millington

Plastic
Hi All,
When I retired as a toolroom engineer I purchased from my employer a Holbrook model c no10 lathe also a Bridgeport miller obviously both are 3 phase electrics so
I purchased a Transwave inverter to give me the 3 phase supply, the 3 phase was connected to both machines the Bridgeport runs perfectly using its original control board and buttons however I cannot get the Holbrook to run, this is what happens,
1 When I switch on the lathes original mains contractor and press the start button on the control panel the start relay closes,
2 When I then use the forward and reverse lever on the apron the motor should start it does not have checked the forward and reverse contacts that are activated by this lever and the are sound and in good condition and the wires are good and the screws are tight,
3 If I manually press in the forward and reverse relays in the control panel the motor runs.
I cannot believe that both relay coils have failed
I have tried changing the 3 phase supply wires no difference
I have confirmed that the lathe was built during the second world war the electrics are all original,
II am no electrician so any help would be greatly appreciated
Many Thanks Ray.

Since you have no location listed I can only guess you are on the island across the pond? Are you running it on the same voltage as your employer did? Sounds like a control transformer issue. I had nothing but trouble with the electrical bits on my C13, the contacts in the base under the headstock were out of this world. I swapped out the giant 3 speed motor for a 5hp 3 phase and a VFD, a big improvement in my opinion.