What's new
What's new

Increasing surface coverage and PPI

SuperSpinach

Plastic
Hello everyone,

I have been scraping a little bit for a couple of years but I recently got serious about improving and obtaining a higher quality surface finish.

I am still very much a beginner and the information on this forum has been invaluable (and also the videos made by the students of Richard King)

Right now, I use a hand scraper and I know how to rough scrape, to go from a rough machined surface to a fairly flat one, but I really struggle to increase the bluing coverage during the finish scraping.

I have been training on a small surface plate (about 10"x5") and managed to get a flat surface that hinges well (it evens sticks to my master plate when bluing) but the points are quite spread out with an average point size of around 1/16". I measured the depth of "valleys" and it's about 0.02mm (1 thousands of an inch). The result is far from some of the outstanding work that can be seen on this forum and I'll try to post some pictures in the following days.

Since I couldn't get a good result even after a lot of passes I decided to start again on a new piece of cast iron that will later become a straight edge (hopefully).

I tried following the 4 main steps given by Richard King and again I get a good flat surface that hinges between 25 and 33% from the ends but the more I finish scrape, the smaller the points get.(or so it seems)

Here are some pictures of the straight edge after some fairly heavy bluing (by my standards) :

Straight edge.jpg

Close up.jpg

Close up with gauge.jpg

Close up with gauge 2.jpg

I do a scraping pass at 45° trying to only scrape the very high spots (the bright ones surrounded by a dark ring) while leaving the lower ones. I then deburr and clean, blue again and do a pass at -45° (again only removing the highest ones).

I am not too sure what I'm doing wrong and any help or feedback would be appreciated to improve the overall coverage of the surface.