What's new
What's new

Lathe recommendation for welding/fabricating shop

Don't worry, I own a 5000 sq-ft workshop split onto two floors. I will eventually dedicate the top floor to any machining works/offices so it is far away from the dust, particles and welding spatters of the fabrication floor.

I would rather stay away from used machines even though I can find some decent ones locally since I have no experience with Lathes and don't know what to look for in terms of acceptable damage/wear.
Most of the usual issues with choosing between an old broken machine and a new machine, IMO boil down to any damage can be repaired, but poor design often can't. This is the problem with most Asian import machines in that they make a "heavy duty" lathe with a big motor and a large swing, but it has a wimpy carriage and bed size so it has no rigidity. Fabrication lathe work will often involve taking interrupted cuts to true up a rough torch-cut piece or a piece that was welded off center, and rigidity really helps there.

For new lathes I'd look less at the advertised dimensions of what it can cut and more at the overall design of the machine. Many lathes I see that are sold as a 13 to 16" swing, only have the rigidity of a 10 to 12" swing lathe. Few companies in the world build quality manual lathes that are as ridged as they once were, because their major market is economy, so lighter castings bring the manufacturing cost down. The other drawback is that many of these machines sold from the orient are built in a nameless factory and sold under several different brands. In 5 to 10 years when you need repair parts, the seller is now selling a different model and can't help support the old ones. I think you'll see less of this with machines made in Europe, but it's a common problem associated with globalized manufacturing.

Take the Wabeco D6000 lathe for example. This is what I consider to be a mini lathe and should be plenty large enough for my current needs.