What's new
What's new

Learning Fusion 360

rimcanyon

Diamond
OK, stupid question time: I'm new to CAD and Fusion 360. Why does the Z axis point the wrong way when I open a sketch in Fusion 360?

i.e. I have Z Up set in my preferences, and the geometry symbol shows Z up: Screenshot 2023-12-22 at 2.25.49 PM.png

But in the Front view, the sketch Z axis has the values increasing going down:
Screenshot 2023-12-22 at 2.25.37 PM.png

I have visions of generating a program where all the Z axis moves are backwards to my intent. It's hard to think in terms of Z going down, when your mill has Z up.

Rim
The coordinate system of the model is totally divorced from the coordinate system of the CAM and g-code. So it doesn't matter which way any axis points in the model. The machinist/fabricator gets to choose different XYZ, and as many different ones as needed, during CAM and fabrication. The only thing that might be inconvenient about the model Z is that, say, the bottom view is not of the bottom, but you can redefine what is the bottom view using the little drop-down arrow next to the view cube.
RKlopp

What it means in the short run is that if I do an extrude, the thickness setting is a negative number. Yes the model looks ok, but it still begs the question as to why it is that way.

The upper right area that displays the side you can rotate to where you want and right click to reset the view as front
The plane you chose to start your sketch is the ZX, you have the ability to choose one of the 3 planes
As mentioned it doesn't really affect CAM unless you select the model origin as your CAM origin

Last edited:
What it means in the short run is that if I do an extrude, the thickness setting is a negative number. Yes the model looks ok, but it still begs the question as to why it is that way.