What's new
What's new

Logan model 2557V - delta 2hp 3 phase motor

rls1160

Plastic
Joined
Feb 4, 2023
Hi Guys, i have a logan lathe with an old delta milwaukee 2hp 3phase motor. The machine has a 3 position mechanical lever power switch.

My question is how to wite the motor? There is no wiring diagram on this motor. It is a model 9400 Delta motor made in Milwaukee. I am attaching several photos.

The original owner had this hooked up using a 14/3 300V SO cord with 3 prong twist lok plug. Apparently it was never grounded.

I have 3 phase power in my shop. American Rotary ADX 10.

Any insights would be most helpful.

Rick
 

Attachments

  • 20230909_102538.jpg
    20230909_102538.jpg
    2.6 MB · Views: 15
  • 20230909_102516.jpg
    20230909_102516.jpg
    7.7 MB · Views: 14
  • 20230909_102449.jpg
    20230909_102449.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 13
  • 20230909_102437.jpg
    20230909_102437.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 14
  • 16942734476278827554048495991055.jpg
    16942734476278827554048495991055.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 13
  • 16942734787214529539916204545242.jpg
    16942734787214529539916204545242.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 13
  • 16942734971294106025850612934120.jpg
    16942734971294106025850612934120.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 12

rls1160

Plastic
Joined
Feb 4, 2023
Hi Bill,

Thanks for that information.

But what I need to confirm is how to properly connect the wiring from the three motor leads to the wiring coming from the switch and ultimately to the 3 phase input power.

From the switch to the motor I have 6 wires. 3 red and 3 white. 2 of the white lines are connected one to one to 2 of motor winding wires.

I have one loose white wire from switch and one loose motor winding wire.

I am assuming the 3 red wires from the switch are the 3 line power leads that are supposed to connect to the incoming 3 pages power.

Do I connect the loose 3rd white wire to the loose 3rd motor winding wire?

Then connect the 3 red switch wires to the 3 incoming 3-phhasepower lines?

I believe this is correct but want to confirm.
 

Attachments

  • 16942757699966278608049522854896.jpg
    16942757699966278608049522854896.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 4

rls1160

Plastic
Joined
Feb 4, 2023
Don't I need to ground this machine back to main power? It was not ever grounded that I can see.

My 3 phase supply power is 3 conductor with seperate ground that goes to shop panel earth ground.

So to properly ground this machine i believe I need upgrade to a 4 pole plug and attach ground to motor casing.

Is that correct?
 

L Vanice

Diamond
Joined
Feb 8, 2006
Location
Fort Wayne, IN
Hi Guys, i have a logan lathe with an old delta milwaukee 2hp 3phase motor. The machine has a 3 position mechanical lever power switch.

My question is how to wite the motor? There is no wiring diagram on this motor. It is a model 9400 Delta motor made in Milwaukee. I am attaching several photos.

The original owner had this hooked up using a 14/3 300V SO cord with 3 prong twist lok plug. Apparently it was never grounded.

I have 3 phase power in my shop. American Rotary ADX 10.

Any insights would be most helpful.

Rick
The motor name plate says 3/4 HP, not 2 HP. I would add a ground connection to the motor using 4 conductor power cord and plug.

The three power cord hot wires should connect to the three reversing switch input terminals. The three reversing switch output terminals should connect to the three motor input wires. Check for correct rotation before buttoning up the covers.

I would also install a bigger three phase motor. My 12" Clausing came with a 2 HP three phase motor, but I replaced it with a new Baldor 2 HP two-speed motor (that was pre-VFD era). The Logan catalog said your motor should be 1 HP. Bigger would not hurt, but watch out for pulley bore vs. motor shaft size. I had to bore out the Clausing motor pulley because the two speed motor had a bigger shaft than the OEM motor.


Larry
 
Last edited:

rls1160

Plastic
Joined
Feb 4, 2023
Larry,

Yes your correct the motor is 3/4 hp. Thank you for confirming the wiring connections and the grounding requirments.

Rick
 

rls1160

Plastic
Joined
Feb 4, 2023
Larry,

Yes your correct the motor is 3/4 hp. Thank you for confirming the wiring connections and the grounding requirments.

The motor name plate says 3/4 HP, not 2 HP. I would add a ground connection to the motor using 4 conductor power cord and plug.

The three power cord hot wires should connect to the three reversing switch input terminals. The three reversing switch output terminals should connect to the three motor input wires. Check for correct rotation before buttoning up the covers.

I would also install a bigger three phase motor. My 12" Clausing came with a 2 HP three phase motor, but I replaced it with a new Baldor 2 HP two-speed motor (that was pre-VFD era). The Logan catalog said your motor should be 1 HP. Bigger would not hurt, but watch out for pulley bore vs. motor shaft size. I had to bore out the Clausing motor pulley because the two speed motor had a bigger shaft than the OEM motor.


Larry
Thank you Larry for additional motor specs and link. Much appreciated.

Rick
 

richard newman

Titanium
Joined
Jul 28, 2006
Location
rochester, ny
From your photos, the wiring looks funky to me. First, it appears the motor "peckerhead" is being used as a junction box between the power cord, switch and motor. The 4 wire power cord should go directly to the switch, then switch output goes to the motor, as Larry states. As it's 220v, and not 220/440 I'm assuming there will be 3 wires from the motor rather than 9 as with dual voltage motors.

The other thing that bothers me is there appears to be a receptacle under the lathe bed. With just a 3 wire power cord I can't see how one could get 120v, unless theres a transformer somewhere inside. Otherwise you need a neutral as well as the 3 hot wires and a ground. Using the ground as a neutral is dangerous.
 

Joe Gwinn

Stainless
Joined
Nov 22, 2009
Location
Boston, MA area
As others have noted, it appears to be a straight 220 Vac 3-phase 3/4 HP motor. The question is if it is Delta-wired or Wye-wired.

The pictures of the wires in the little connection box on the motor are far too crowded to be interpreted. Nor does this meet code - too crowded.

Disconnect everything, and inspect the motor wires alone. How many are there? The possibilities are 3-wire (Delta) or 4-wire (Wye) There should also be a safety ground connection (green screw) on the frame of the motor (and/or the attached box). More on this later.

Color codes are somewhat flexible, but in the USA, three-wire the colors are likely Red, Blue, and Black. It may also be tagged L1, L2, and L3. The four-wire colors are as for 3-wire, plus White (neutral), often tagged N.

Even though the lathe did not originally have a safety (green in the US) ground wire, it should be added now, for two reasons. First is that old motors often have some leakage, and will tingle or shock the operator. Second, and most important, is that if any of the three power wires should for any reason become shorted to the motor frame, the entire lathe will become live to ground, and will soon electrocute the operator. If the motor and lathe frame is instead solidly grounded to the safety ground system of the shop, the short will instead cause the breaker to pop, not the operator.
 
Last edited:

rls1160

Plastic
Joined
Feb 4, 2023
Hello everyone,

Thank you all for the great input.

I agree that the 110v outlet on the machine is wierd and I can't see how you would get 110v from a 3 phase connection without a neutral.
The machine was connected to a wired 3-pole outlet. There was a 3 conductor cord with a 3 pole 20amp 125/250v twist-lok plug. I attached a picture of the original install.

I have disconneted the wiring in the motor junction box so you can clearly see the 3 motor winding wires. These were connected to the 3 white wires coming out of reversing machine switch which I have also opened and attached a picture of that cutler hammer motor control switch.

Here is my understand of what has been shared.

Run new 4 conductor (3 phase T1,T2, T3 + ground) power to machine.

Run the power to the motor control switch. Then run the output 3 phase power from motor control switch along with ground back into motor junction box. Connect the switched output lines to each of the 3 motor winding wires. And make a ground connection to the motor case and or motor junction box.

Do I have this correct?

Rick
 

Attachments

  • 16942845470786371403137368693902.jpg
    16942845470786371403137368693902.jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 8
  • 16942845695922650332981395786792.jpg
    16942845695922650332981395786792.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 8
  • 16942847245842065997530905863757.jpg
    16942847245842065997530905863757.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 9
  • 16942852618588422375885391394868.jpg
    16942852618588422375885391394868.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 7
  • 20230629_114207.jpg
    20230629_114207.jpg
    3.9 MB · Views: 7

Joe Gwinn

Stainless
Joined
Nov 22, 2009
Location
Boston, MA area
Hello everyone,

Thank you all for the great input.

I agree that the 110v outlet on the machine is weird and I can't see how you would get 110v from a 3 phase connection without a neutral.
The machine was connected to a wired 3-pole outlet. There was a 3 conductor cord with a 3 pole 20amp 125/250v twist-lock plug. I attached a picture of the original install.
I'd trace the circuit out for that. Disconnect it in the meantime.

I have disconnected the wiring in the motor junction box so you can clearly see the 3 motor winding wires. These were connected to the 3 white wires coming out of reversing machine switch which I have also opened and attached a picture of that cutler hammer motor control switch.

Here is my understand of what has been shared.

Run new 4 conductor (3 phase T1,T2, T3 + ground) power to machine.

Run the power to the motor control switch. Then run the output 3 phase power from motor control switch along with ground back into motor junction box. Connect the switched output lines to each of the 3 motor winding wires. And make a ground connection to the motor case and or motor junction box.

Do I have this correct?

Rick
Yes, that's correct, but one thing is not mentioned: Replace the wall box outlet with a 4-pole twist-lock, with mating plug on the cable from the lathe. Throw the old 3-pole plug and jack into the random-parts bit, awaiting re-assignment.

What you need is a 3-pole 4-wire grounding twist-lock plug and jack for 125/250 Vac, 20 amps, which is NEMA type L14-20R. Big-box stored have them. Here is a chart:
https://www.zoro.com/resourcehub/understanding-nema-plug-configurations/


For the cable from lathe to wall, use type SJOO cable. (Oil-resistant rubber cable for up to 300 Vac use.)

For connections within the box on the motor, I'd use a Molex (not Chinese) euro-style barrier strip. Here is one of that line. Electrical supply houses carry such things.
https://tools.molex.com/molex/produ...?parentKey=terminal_blocks_and_barrier_strips
 

L Vanice

Diamond
Joined
Feb 8, 2006
Location
Fort Wayne, IN
"...What you need is a 3-pole 4-wire grounding twist-lock plug and jack for 125/250 Vac, 20 amps, which is NEMA type L14-20R. Big-box stored have them. Here is a chart:
https://www.zoro.com/resourcehub/understanding-nema-plug-configurations/ ..."

The L14-20 is for single phase 125/250 VAC dual voltage circuits. For 250 VAC three phase, the L15-20 is correct. I figured that out forty years ago when I got my first three phase machines and built a phase converter. The OP already has three phase in his shop, so he probably knows about the correct connectors.

Larry
 
Last edited:

Joe Gwinn

Stainless
Joined
Nov 22, 2009
Location
Boston, MA area
"...What you need is a 3-pole 4-wire grounding twist-lock plug and jack for 125/250 Vac, 20 amps, which is NEMA type L14-20R. Big-box stored have them. Here is a chart:
https://www.zoro.com/resourcehub/understanding-nema-plug-configurations/ ..."

The L14-20 is for single phase 125/250 VAC dual voltage circuits. For 250 VAC three phase, the L15-20 is correct. I figured that out forty years ago when I got my first three phase machines and built a phase converter. The OP already has three phase in his shop, so he probably knows about the correct connectors.

You are correct. It should be NEMA L15-20.
 

rls1160

Plastic
Joined
Feb 4, 2023
Thank you Larry, Joe and Richard for your input. It has been extremely helpful.

It will nice to get my new to me machines up and running. After the lathe I'll be working on a series 1 Bridgeport, DoAll model ML vertical bandsaw and Harig surface grinder.

Thanks again everyone!!!

Rick
 

Bill D

Diamond
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Location
Modesto, CA USA
Good idea to run a seperate ground wire between the motor and the frame of the machine. This is rather then relying on the electrical path between the motor case and the motor mount. Such mounts often have paint, grease or rubber bushings and such so they are insulated somewhat from each other. Just vee belts spinning can generate a static charge. Good practice to bond the metal stand as well.
Bill D
 

rls1160

Plastic
Joined
Feb 4, 2023
Correct Larry it is a cutler hammer motor switch circa 1946. No wiring diagram on switch cover plate or switch body.

Rick
 








 
Top