What's new
What's new

Looking for a Datron or a Datron alternative machine

kuka737

Plastic
Hello Fellow Machinist(hopefully members here won't mind calling myself a machinist),

I am a computer engineer by education & trade. 3 months ago, I started learning to machine aluminum and brass parts on my Carbide3D Nomad3 for my company. I do love my Nomad3 but the 8inx8inx3in work envelope can be limiting. I am currently looking to get a larger machine in the next 9 to 18 months for making large aluminum electronic enclosures(16in x 12in x 3in), C145 copper heat sinks, and the rare custom copper(C110) copper bus bar which we outsource. We are looking at the Datron Neo and Datron M8. The main reasons for datron are MQL system and the size of both machine which can fit through our office doors. But, I want to know other alternative suggestion that members here would have. Two requirement are as low as possible noise(we are between two business that are somewhat quiet office environments and we like our neighbors) and the second is no coolant(example water based or oil based) expect for Alcohol/Ethanol based MQL system. Also, I would like to hear from current and former owner of Datron neo & M8 about the ownership experience. Thank you all.

Hello Fellow Machinist(hopefully members here won't mind calling myself a machinist),