What's new
What's new

Machining School needs your knowledge and guidance.

NewPathwaysCTEC

Plastic
Hi friends,
I am director of New Pathways Tech LLC, a non-profit machining school in Culpeper Virginia. We focus on NIMS Certification for Mill and Lathe, both manual and CNC. In the past, some local manufacturers have donated manual mills and lathes, some of which are older than I am, and I have retired twice.
We have been doing well so far supplying CNC operators for local manufacturers. I have been getting feedback from local manufacturers that they need our students to program G-code. This isn't anything new, but our problem is that in the past (I am new to the position) we have not focused enough when purchasing machines. We do have a DMG Mori mill and a HAAS TR2 toolroom mill that both use g-code, but we also have a TRAX LPM mill and TRAX lathe that are conversational and can't be programmed directly using g-code from the operators panel, unless you all can tell me otherwise.
My question, and where I need help is what are the better brands of CNC machines, both mill and lathe, that use primarily G-code programming from the OP? Also, what would be a good place to look for good quality, used machines that we can use to teach our students? And then the Pie in the Sky question, does anyone here want to donate a machine to a 501-3c non-profit?
Thank you all in advance for your help. We are just trying to fill a void in the industry.
Joe Parker
New Pathways Tech LLC
9440 James Madison Highway
Rapidan, VA
434-602-2735

Best wishes for what you are doing.
As regards g-code training for Fanuc or a similar lathe, you may download my FREE eBook. Details available in another thread

We have a local vocational school that uses some sort of desktop Haas simulation and they had multiple stations that a few students could use. The one student that I have now said they aren't using them anymore and he wasn't sure why though.