What's new
What's new

Mazak mill offerings

70olds

Aluminum
As I surf through the forums I see a lot of people mentioning Mazak lathes or mills and lathes, but it seems that most Mazak mill users are that way because they have the lathes as well. It doesn't seem too common for people to own just their mills and use another brand of lathe. How does everyone feel about their mills? We program all offline so Mazatrol does just about nothing for me in the decision making process. Are there any major upsides/downsides on their mills, specifically horizontals? They seem to have some decent ease-of-use features, but I don't want to sacrifice the machine for the control (no offense HAAS). Thanks.

boosted

Stainless
Mazak makes pretty good premium big (1 meter and up) mills and big 5 axis mills. The big 5 axis horizontals (Integrex e-V's etc...) are pretty solid.

I have a lot of experience with the HC and HCN series, and they are pretty "meh". Not necessarily bad machines, but I see no reason to buy them unless you really like your local Mazak team. I don't have personal experience with the HCR.

Mazak's strongest selling point is that they make a solution for everything. If you only need one type of machine, they probably aren't going to be the best.

*edit* Also, I'm not really a fan of any of Mazak's "commodity" machines. They are hyper-obsessed with competing with HAAS, and they just can't get it right. There seems to be a gimmicky new 40x20 VMC every few years, and they have all of these legacy Mazak products that compete with each other for that market.

Last edited:

boosted

Stainless
I watched an e1060v8 regularly under perform in milling when compared to some other brand 40 taper HMCs adjacent to it.