What's new
What's new

Mits FX10 WEDM Corner pickup

Mien23

Plastic
Ok Yes Im New to wire EDM...LOL I have a Mits FX10 . So when you do an outside corner pickup and the start point is outside of the block, Why does the machine cut the wire before it moves to the start point? Can we remove the wire cut?

Mien23

Hi Mien23:
The short answer is: "Because you told it to".
That sounds like a flippant, assholeish remark, but it's quite literally true.

You need to look for the line of code in your program that commands a wire cut and just edit or comment it out.
If you never want to start a program with a wire cut, you need to edit your post processor to eliminate the instruction to post the wire cut command at program start.

On my machine which understands generic Fanuc, the code for a wire cut is M21.
The code to thread the wire is M20.
On a Mits, it's probably something different.

That's all it takes.

Cheers

Marcus
Implant Mechanix • Design & Innovation > HOME
Vancouver Wire EDM -- Wire EDM Machining

On the Mits FX10 I run at work M21 is wire cut and M20 is wire thread. Like Marcus said, double check your program.

My suspicion is that the op is referring to a quick use type of pickup routine, rather than a written program/macro. The pickup routines that Sodick uses, are called "codeless", no idea what Mits would call it.

Don't forget to account for half the diameter of the wire plus overburn...I usually move .0065 in.

This is a little off topic, but I've seen you bring this up before and I don't really understand it. When you do your pickup, it's not like you are compensating for a strong spark going that would affect your location. If you moved in .005 in both directions the center of the wire would be on the corner. If I did what you do my location would be off .0015 each direction. Unless this has to do with the way you program your toolpaths?