What's new
What's new

My reliable 1942 completely original USN 10EE MG lathe stopped working.

NateFoerg

Plastic
Good morning all you wonderful lathe experts from all around the world!

So, I have a 1942 MG round dial that is a war finish machine. Pretty nice for a war finish machine, but the tag is there so it is.

I have owned this lathe for about 10 years. Picked up in eastern US from a university sale. Condition- excellent for age.

Power: 220VAC 3 phase generated by a 20HP American Rotary phase converter. All input power checks out. I have been running it on the ARPC for 10 years with no issues.

Fuses at main lathe disconnect- fine, checked for continuity with meter. Main disconnect appears to be fine, and I can trace continuity through the disconnect, when connected.

MG startup push button momentary switch- repaired a few years back. just need cleanup and reassembley. works fine. PB exciter "runs", and also the Generator belted to it "runs". Need to check Generator variable resistor.

PB exciter- worn shaft repaired, bearings, re-brushed and dressed commutator and brushes. Brushes checked out last night. no visible damage. replaced 2 years ago. NO SPARKS AT BRUSHES.

Generator- brushes seem good. physical connections seem good, brushes not stuck. brush tensioners seem fine. NO SPARKS AT BRUSHES.

All wire screw terminals tightened and checked. no change.

Main contactor at back of headstock. works perfect. does what it should.

Rotary switch- good, checked it last night, no obvious physical issues. Clean action.

main electrical box- very old, but seemingly ok, all parts/relays/etc seem to be functional. note: I had to rewind the AP Relay (pain in the ass .003" wire) and its been functional for 5 years. Resistors- from left to right- 750 Ohms, 500 Ohms and (Need to check the farthest right variable resistor)