What's new
What's new

Need a Brother a00 post processor

johnrobholmes

Aluminum
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Location
missouri
Edit: post processor for hsm plugin for solidworks and fusion 360 found here https://github.com/mikemaat/BrotherCNC-Fusion360Posts

I'm looking for a post processor for a brother tc31a with a00 controls. Would prefer solidworks hsmworks plug in but would learn (to export objects to) fusion 360 if needed. I don't have Mastercam, which is the one post I'm aware the last owners used.

Worst case I'd write my own, but looking for the easy route first.


Google search for a00 post processor is giving some results. I tried the brother posts on the hsmworks site and fusion site and they wouldn't output for me. Looks like there's something on GitHub I'll try.
 
Last edited:

johnrobholmes

Aluminum
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Location
missouri
Awesome, that's easy peasy. Looks like there's a a00 specific on github for fusion I'll try first. Might have to buy that dreaded software. I despise cloud software. My mach3 machine has no internet and had been running solid for close to 15 years now. No updates no problems!
 

BugRobotics

Hot Rolled
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Location
Denver, CO
When tweaking your post you can run a dump post to get a better idea of what is going on. It is attached.
 

Attachments

  • dump.zip
    3.4 KB · Views: 1

Mtndew

Diamond
Joined
Jun 7, 2012
Location
Michigan
What would need to be changed?

I'm not 100% sure on all that would need to be changed, but the code is virtually identical.
If you're just doing basic stuff, then you can change stuff like the tool change, coolant M codes,HSM codes,etc. Minor stuff.
 

couch

Cast Iron
Joined
Jun 10, 2009
Location
Anaheim, California
I'm looking for a post processor for a brother tc31a with a00 controls. Would prefer solidworks hsmworks plug in but would learn (to export objects to) fusion 360 if needed. I don't have Mastercam, which is the one post I'm aware the last owners used.

Worst case I'd write my own, but looking for the easy route first.


Google search for a00 post processor is giving some results. I tried the brother posts on the hsmworks site and fusion site and they wouldn't output for me. Looks like there's something on GitHub I'll try.
Fusion and HSM use the exact same .CPS post files. The Brother / Speedio post will work for A00. When you try and post, what error are you getting? The error log will show which line specifically is crapping out when trying to post.
 

johnrobholmes

Aluminum
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Location
missouri
Lemme try some posts today and see what happens. I got an output from soldiworks with HSM plug in using fanuc cps, so I'll try the a00 post now.

Really appreciate the help on this. The next hurdle is to get the brocomm software so I can inject the NC
 

couch

Cast Iron
Joined
Jun 10, 2009
Location
Anaheim, California
Lemme try some posts today and see what happens. I got an output from soldiworks with HSM plug in using fanuc cps, so I'll try the a00 post now.

Really appreciate the help on this. The next hurdle is to get the brocomm software so I can inject the NC
The Fanuc post is close but will without question requires some minor modifications. The Brother one will be much better to start with.

Main changes, without getting into the simultaneous tool changes and high accuracy modes (Not necessary to get the machine running) will be removing G20/G21 from the code, removing the program number from the header and adding an additional space below the M30 to force an End of Block after the M30. The tapping cycles will also need to change to remove M29, replace G84 with G77 and remove the Feed value and replace it with an I (Metric) or J (Inch) for the feed which is a match of the tap lead/pitch so a 1/4-20 will be J20. or M8x1.25 will be I1.25, etc. I've attached a screenshot from the Programming Manual that shows the format. You can also set G98/G99 in this line as well.

Shoot me a DM and I can send you the entire A00 Programming Manual.

A00 Programming Manual G77.png
 

johnrobholmes

Aluminum
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Location
missouri
I used the HSM post for the A00 inside solidworks. This is a two hole tap operation. its outputting!


%
(O0011 TAP)
(G21 - MILLIMETER MODE TO BE SET IN USER PARAMETERS - CONSULT YOUR MANUAL)
(MACHINE)
( VENDOR YAMAZEN)
( MODEL TC-31A)
( DESCRIPTION BIG BROTHER)
(T04 D=2.5 CR=0 - ZMIN=-2.032 - RIGHT HAND TAP)
N10 G00 G90 G94 G40 G80 G64

(DRILL2)
N15 G54
N20 G100 T04 X5.109 Y-25.269 Z15 G43 H04
N25 M08
N30 G00 X5.109 Y-25.269
N35 Z15
N40 G00 Z5
N45 G77 X5.109 Y-25.269 Z-2.032 R5 I0.45 S500 L600
N50 X28.038 Y-7.878
N55 G80
N60 Z15

N65 M09
N70 G28 G91 Z0
N75 G100 T04
N80 G90 G53 X0 Y0
N85 M30
%
 
Last edited:

johnrobholmes

Aluminum
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Location
missouri
And this is drilling op output. Again, no definition of rapids but maybe this machine assumes rapids until otherwise told? Z reference is at part surface, its flat plate work

%
(O0001)
(G21 - MILLIMETER MODE TO BE SET IN USER PARAMETERS - CONSULT YOUR MANUAL)
(MACHINE)
( VENDOR YAMAZEN)
( MODEL TC-31A)
( DESCRIPTION BIG BROTHER)
(T03 D=2.083 CR=0 TAPER=118DEG - ZMIN=-2.032 - DRILL)
N10 G00 G90 G94 G40 G80 G64

(DRILL1)
N15 G54
N20 G100 T03 X5.109 Y-25.269 Z4 G43 H03 S10000 M03
N25 M08
N30 G00 X5.109 Y-25.269
N35 Z4
N40 G00 Z3
N45 G81 X5.109 Y-25.269 Z-2.032 R2 F521
N50 X28.038 Y-7.878
N55 G80
N60 Z4

N65 M09
N70 G28 G91 Z0
N75 G100 T03
N80 G90 G53 X0 Y0
N85 M30
%
 

johnrobholmes

Aluminum
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Location
missouri
dropping this here so I can view away from CAD computer. I'm mostly happy with this although I could start cutting feeds closer to the part surface IMO. set to 5mm now, Im thinking 1 or 1.5mm so im not eating up twice the time in lead in as the actual cut on the small parts.


(O0001 TIMING RING )
(G21 - MILLIMETER MODE TO BE SET IN USER PARAMETERS - CONSULT YOUR MANUAL)
(MACHINE)
( VENDOR YAMAZEN)
( MODEL TC-31A)
( DESCRIPTION BIG BROTHER)
(T02 D=3.175 CR=0 - ZMIN=-2.032 - FLAT END MILL)
(T03 D=2.083 CR=0 TAPER=118DEG - ZMIN=-2.032 - DRILL)
(T04 D=2.5 CR=0 - ZMIN=-2.032 - RIGHT HAND TAP)
N10 G00 G90 G94 G40 G80 G64

(DRILL1)
N15 G54
N20 G100 T03 X5.109 Y-25.269 Z4 G43 H03 S10000 M03
N25 M08
N30 G00 X5.109 Y-25.269
N35 Z4
N40 G00 Z3
N45 G81 X5.109 Y-25.269 Z-2.032 R2 F521
N50 X28.038 Y-7.878
N55 G80
N60 Z4
N65 M05
N70 M09

(2.5X 0.45 TAP)
N75 G54
N80 G100 T04 X5.109 Y-25.269 Z15 G43 H04
N85 M08
N90 G00 X5.109 Y-25.269
N95 Z15
N100 G00 Z5
N105 G84 X5.109 Y-25.269 Z-2.032 R5 P0 F225 S500
N110 X28.038 Y-7.878
N115 G80
N120 Z15
N125 M05
N130 M09

(18 ENDMILL CONTOUR)
N135 G54
N140 G100 T02 X8.222 Y-23.722 Z3 G43 H02 S15000 M03
N145 M08

etc. etc. etc.. Im not giving away my contouring on this, lol!
 

Toptiginn

Plastic
Joined
Jul 6, 2022
Hello. We also recently bought a tc-22a machine and it also has an a00 controller. Could you please share the post processor?
 

couch

Cast Iron
Joined
Jun 10, 2009
Location
Anaheim, California
And this is drilling op output. Again, no definition of rapids but maybe this machine assumes rapids until otherwise told? Z reference is at part surface, its flat plate work
Rapid speed will be defined on the control with the rapid override knob. Anytime it outputs a G00 it will be in rapid, so your N10 line is starting it there already.
 








 
Top