What's new
What's new

Need help choosing VFD or RPC for Sharp 1118h

AK-John

Plastic
Hey! New guy here! I am very new to having this commercial 3phase machinery in my home shop and I want to make the best choice for this setup. I cant seem to determine the current draw for this particular motor in this lathe. It says its a 5HP 220/440V motor. On the tag it doesnt have a FLA rating but just a stamp that says AMP and 6.5. How do I determine which size VFD to go with for the single phase to 3 phase conversion and then How many amp service do I need to plan for? Will a VFD provide for all of the electrical needs of the lathe? Im hoping a VFD will give me everything I need as its a bit more affordable and takes up less real estate but if its going to make operations more difficult, Ill start the hunt for the RPC.
Thanks in advance. Summary: Need size requirements for VFD and service for sharp 1118h on 220 single phase to 3 phase.

I see it also has a half HP carriage feed motor and a lower power coolant pump motor. Does the installation manual or operators manual provide any guidance on powering the lathe?

It does indeed have those added motors. Ive downloaded and read the Operators manual and did not see any info regarding the powering of the lathe. Ill look around and see if I can find an Installation manual. Am I safe to assume that I would need multiple VFD's...ie one for each motor? Sounds like a rotary phase converter may be my only option. Thanks!

I think because you have multiple motors you're going to want to go rotary phase converter or phase perfect.

This one would likely be ideal:

Without seeing the data plate amp draw it's hard to say for sure. Size the phase perfect for the amp required in the manual.

You can always go up a size for a couple hundred bucks if you're concerned. But in general you're never going to pull FLA on a machine like this.