What's new
What's new

Need help with Error 20 on my Deckel FP2NC Dialog 3

spaxxomatic

Plastic
I am a passive reader here since many years, got tons of valuable information and tips from you, guys. Thanks a ton for that.

I bought an FP2NC a couple of years ago for my hobbies, put it in the garage and loved it. I thought the old lady will love me forever too and never die.
Until two weeks ago - I left it on over night and next day I had an Error 20 in the right corner of the screen. Looked it up , it's "Fehler 20 - Eprom error on NPP53 or NEP51".
I knew this day would come, but I was too lazy to make copies of those pesky eproms in time.

Anyway, my background is electronics and software, so I thought, not all that bad, my baby needs a bit of love and some new eproms. So I bought the Eprom images for this version of Dialog 3 from a guy, built myself a programmer (need to build one, no modern programmer for less than 1000$ can handle those pesky TMS2564 eproms),
I then took the NPP53 and the NEP52 out of the machine, fought the 40 years old eprom sockets to free up the damn chips, then compared the chips with the images I've bought and found indeed 2 bytes that were different.
I was almost happy - thought OK, problem is localized and easy to fix.
So I burned some new old stock TMS2564 with fresh bits, put them back in those miserable sockets, turn the machine on and ... "Fehler 20".
Exactly the same shit. I can't believe it.
I then tried everything - replaced eproms one by one. Checked the NSP voltages, removed NSP board, NEP board, pulled the eproms from the sockets and started the machine without them. The machine starts and displays exactly the same error 20 .- the only change I could see is a black screen when the NPP53 is completely removed or when the IC18, the first eprom, is removed and the NPP started without it.