What's new
What's new

Need tool offset help… please!

OldGold

Plastic
I am new to cnc milling and recently purchased a 2007 Sharp SV-2412S which has the Fanuc oi mate-mc system. I purchased a Haimer and a nice tool height indicator to try to eliminate error and to make things easier on me. I’ve successfully set tool length offsets from each other but I am having a hell of a time getting the machine to recognize where the work material is. I’ve followed some others members processes but I must be missing something. I’ve heard you can use the Haimer to zero anywhere and set up all the tool offsets to that same height. Then use the Haimer to locate the work Z. I think I’m missing something during this because the machine still doesn’t know where the work piece is. Could the offset between the work piece and tool be a result of the program? Perhaps maybe where I set my work coordinates in SolidWorks?

Can someone please help me? Thank you!!!

couch

Cast Iron
Could be any number of things but if you’re using a tool height setter, with say a 4” zero height, you can set all your tools on there. Just make sure you always put it in the same place, like on the table.

Your work offset Z values will then be set with the Haimer by first zeroing the Haimer on a hard 4” gage set on the table, or the same place you set your tools with. Do not try and set zero on top of the tool setter with the Haimer. The gage block must be the same height as your zero height of the tool setter so if your tool setter is only 3” tall, use a 3” gage block.

Zero the Haimer on the gage block then either record your machines absolute Z coordinates, or better yet zero out the relative Z value. Now jog the spindle to wherever your Z is in your WCS, say top of stock, and zero the Haimer on it. The value in your relative Z is what you’d put in the work offset Z value for that part/offset. Do the same for any other work offset Zs. All values will be from the gage block not from each other.