What's new
What's new

New Business Advice

kccmelty

Plastic
I’m a machinist and manufacturing engineer who was recently laid off and is looking for the best manufacturing business to start. I started and sold an industrial 3D printing shop in the past, so this isn’t my first rodeo.

I’m seeking some advice on what areas of manufacturing are currently underserved that I can research and possibly start a business around. Automation and lights-out manufacturing are key components of any business that I get involved with. We ran our 3D printers mostly at night and on weekends and I want to set this company up to do the same.

My current thoughts are:
  1. A small 5-axis mill with robotic machine tending.
  2. A mill-turn with a sub-spindle and bar feeder.
  3. Industrial 3D printing (again).
  4. A post-machining service that can be automated.

Any advice would be appreciated.

I don't think I would start a machine shop unless it is your passion. It's not like a decade ago where you could massively outperform everyone else by using automation. At this point it's generally a given that mid size or larger companies are running unattended to some extent. The wildly successful shops have a very specific niche or the right type of locked-in customer.

3D printing also seems to have become kind a of a commodity. From what I can tell, there was a lot more room for early adopters/innovators about a decade ago. We have a couple partner shops that offer industrial 3D printing and say that the margins have dropped off to practically zero.

I know two plating shops that started around the same time I did, and both businesses appear to be outperforming my machine shop by orders of magnitude. YMMV, but I think their business tends to run more like a true service, and the pressures of globalization have not hit them quite as hard as those of us who are making chips.

Last edited:
Automation and lights-out manufacturing are key components of any business that I get involved with.