What's new
What's new

New gun design help

John Brenner

Plastic
I’ve just joined this forum and don’t visit forums I’m a newbie. Lol I’m designing a gun it’s a 22 mag cartridge. It’s for self defense and I’m designing it to carry in my back pocket. I’m designing it to look nothing like a gun. My question is with the pressure of a 22 mag how much wall thickness will I need using either 410 or 416. The 410 has a lower Rockwell range which I would think would be better then the 416 ‘s 45 Rockwell. I’m going to have three chambers in a rectangular block. The bores are going to be honed smooth bores 1.500 in length. These will all be in this one rectangular block. My question the rim fires have much less pressures what is the minimum wall thickness I need with 410 at around 30 Rockwell. I’m trying to keep the Thickness of this block at a minimum because it will be in my back pocket. But with this design I will have two weak points where the wall will be thinner in line with the thickness. Also is the 416 a better choice maybe with a higher Rockwell. Im only a designer not an engineer. Lol Any recommendations are really appreciated.