What's new
What's new

New Heavy 10

IDguy

Plastic
Hello,

I just traded a half a day's work and 100 bucks for a heavy 10 lathe. it is in beautiful shape but is covered in decades of dried oil goo. I bought the rebuild book with felts and plan to tear the whole thing apart and soak it in diesel to get rid of the goo. The serial number is just over 170K. I have already ordered a serial tag lookup from south bend.

Any advice on the teardown?

I also have a whole ton of 5C collets I got for free and I would like to use them on this lathe. Is there any good source for a collet chuck?

When I engage the back gears and run the lead screw where it brings the carriage towards the headstock it binds a backgear. Specifically the lower leftmost gear when viewed from the back of the lathe. All the others spin freely but I think this gear is tightening its own nut down on itself. Any solution?

I am pretty new to running a lathe so any advice is appreciated. I know a Heavy 10 with scrape marks still on most of the ways is a pretty nice thing so I want to take care of it.

Thanks

Ok. Thanks. I guess I will keep my eye out for a big spindle as that would be great for barrel work. It has a 1 inch bore right now.

Any tips as I break it down and clean it and rebuild it?

I need a drive belt for between the pulleys and the spindle. The old leather belt is super oil soaked and spongy. It works but not well. What is the best belt to get for it?

Any tips as I break it down and clean it and rebuild it?

Just pick an assembly and follow the rebuild book. Keep each assy parts together and note any differences between the book and what you have. Take copious amount of pics as you proceed.

What is the best belt to get for it?

A lot of people are using automotive serpentine belts glued into a continuous belt as a replacement. There is a very long thread on here on their use.

Make yourself a chip tray for your lathe. You'll thank me later!