What's new
What's new

New to Practical Machinist

ThisOldEnco

Plastic
Howdy everyone, I am new to the Practical Machinist forum and wanted to introduce myself and explain a few of my interests/current machining predicaments.

Originally I took to machining as a hobbyist, with access to a shop on the weekends where I could tinker with different machines that always interested me as a kid. Now I am a mechanical engineering student, and I find myself in the shop machining parts for mask-making lines (thanks to this pandemic). The shop I have acquired was equipped with a brandless import style mill as far as I can tell, a wobbly drill press, some miscellaneous presses/torches, and an Enco lathe that is in surprisingly good condition. I have had great success with machining parts on this lathe, though primarily in aluminum and occasionally mild steel. I have not acquired many new tools, as a large amount of tooling for the mill and lathe was left behind when the shop was abandoned before me. This is mostly high speed steel cutting tools, which are the tools for the job because they are the tools I have.

Almost all of my parts are designed and simulated in Solidworks, before being made in the shop, and I am wanting to experiment with different materials. Due to the requirements of the companies I am working with, I am trying to make parts from 4140 alloy steel. I have never worked with this material, though I have some samples that I would like to experiment with. Have people had good results with high speed steel on this material? Or should I invest in some carbide insert tooling? Looking for some general advice and recommendations on how to approach this forum.

Glad to be here,
ThisOldEnco

Get some carbide tooling, but given that you're likely horsepower and machine stiffness limited, don't expect miracles. Try starting out with faster RPM and feeds, but lower depth of cut to get performance from carbide.