What's new
What's new

Newall Topaz DRO erratic reading

APD

Stainless
Mill had not been used for a few months and was working fine. Newall Topaz two axis .

I turn on the DRO and the numbers are jumping all over the place. Digits flickering, jumping from 0 to -12653.0174 instantly, etc.

Sometimes I can find a spot where it behaves normal, but moving any axis will cause it to go nuts again.

Manual says this behavior can be due to a bad ground, so I add a ground wire in specified location and check continuity with machine and metal wall boxes. everything is grounded with no change.
The scales are protected by aluminum angle and the problem started after months of NO Usage, so its not dirty scales.

Any suggestions what else to check?

I got something similar but different on my C80 so I can't say for sure but it was cheap enough to try.

My power supply died and I got a new one from McMaster but due to lack of standards on the plug the new one almost fit but didn't and the numbers were erratic. In my case I cut the old connector off the bad power supply spliced it to the good inner so I had a good connection and good supply and it all worked good again. So may want to verify that you have good power, good connections etc... Outside of that I thought I saw a company on Ebay who repairs those readouts.

Sent from my SM-J737V using Tapatalk

I got something similar but different on my C80 so I can't say for sure but it was cheap enough to try.

My power supply died and I got a new one from McMaster but due to lack of standards on the plug the new one almost fit but didn't and the numbers were erratic. In my case I cut the old connector off the bad power supply spliced it to the good inner so I had a good connection and good supply and it all worked good again. So may want to verify that you have good power, good connections etc... Outside of that I thought I saw a company on Ebay who repairs those readouts.

Sent from my SM-J737V using Tapatalk