What's new
What's new

OT: House Foundation Peirs

There's a section of the toll road that runs along by the Circuit of Americas that will test out your shocks and springs at 80-85 MPH, too:D You vehicle acts like it's going air born for a moment.

There's a section of the toll road that runs along by the Circuit of Americas that will test out your shocks and springs at 80-85 MPH, too:D You vehicle acts like it's going air born for a moment.

Yeah, I've read that complaint about the access roads too. It's all fun and games until your girlfriend or child hurls...

[Have to remind the kid not to mention the girlfriend to the wife]

Related to the squishy geology in Texas . . .

Back in the late 80’s / early 90’s when their was a US based super collider project near Waxahachie . . . the geology studies indicated all kinds of issues related to squeezing ground / clay that would trap a traditional Tunnel Boeing Machine design. I was a young engineer fresh out of college who worked for the TBM manufacturer and was sitting in a meeting where people were brain storming on how to design a segmented shield machine that wouldn’t get stuck. I remember sketching up an idea that was eventually embraced by the company . . .

Like most of my ideas that actually wind up working, I had thought of it while sitting on the porcelain throne just before the meeting. The idea was eventually awarded a patent. I was totally bummed when congress cancelled the project with the tunnel only partially complete. I remember the patent Atty struggling with the patent illustrations and I had gotten pretty good with AUTOCad so I ended up doing all the illustrations for the patent as well. Clay soils were a big part of my education as a machine designer in my early career!

US5205613A - Tunnel boring machine with continuous forward propulsion
- Google Patents

I was called to install an access system on a gate near Waxahachie a few months ago...