What's new
What's new

Our first HMC looking for setup tips and tricks

Jsamp2130

Plastic
We just installed our first 500mm twin pallet horizontal with a 60 tool magazine in the shop. It has a renishaw spindle probe and the laser tool pre setter. I am planning on running repeat jobs and want to reduce setup as much as possible. Can anyone give me some ideas on how i should set it up so repeat jobs can be setup fast? How should work offsets be managed? Workholding? Etc…

I run a twin pallet vertical with a 30 tool magazine. I'm no systems expert and have worked alone forever, so that likely shades my processes.

I would:

1) Leave tools loaded if possible. Things like Spot Drills and Chamfers etc. A Facemill or two. I'm not able to leave many tools loaded as most the production pieces I run use too many tools. Especially when I'm always counting a Probe and Fan as two of them. But with 60 tools you might have a better chance of leaving a bunch mounted.

1a) If I could afford it I'd never completely tear down the tools in a job. (I might remove them from the machine, but not remove the tool from the Tool Holder.) But because I can't, I'll sometimes keep all the cutters for a job in a box saved for next time. At least ones that are critical and are attached to any Cutter Comped Tool Offsets. Clearance or other non-critical drills and roughing cutters not so much.

2) Before tearing down any job I punch out the Part Program and all of its Subroutines en mass as one file. (Fanuc Copy-A-Range w/comma)

3) Punch out the Tool Offsets

4) Punch out the Work Offsets.

When the job comes back, copy these three file back to the machine, and run the two offsets files to reload their settings. Now except for loading and measuring previously pulled tools, you're almost ready to go.