What's new
What's new

Phase II rotary table help

h_arch

Plastic
Hello all, first post here, but definitely not the last.

I've been machining (manual Lagun FTV-2 and Sheldon lathe) for a few years at my last job, recently went on my own and started acquiring the tools I need to do the work I want to do.

I purchased a beautiful 1953 Bridgeport variable speed with a ton of tooling, setup equipment and everything else the dude wanted gone for $3500. In that pile was a 10" Phase II rotary table.

I've only used one other table before, so I'm a bit unfamiliar with this one. I can't get the handle to engage the table and spin. I've moved the knobs in every conceivable orientation hoping it will free up some locks or something, and still nothing. I don't want to start taking it apart if I don't have to.

Does anyone have experience with these tables and can walk me through what I need to check/do to make it function? This will be a crucial piece of equipment if I can get it to function.

Thanks all, hopefully someday I can help someone with something to pay it back.

--Matt

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    2.8 MB · Views: 38
Sounds like you have got the worm disengaged.

The drive worm and handle assembly are generally on an eccentric bush. Turning the bush allows the depth of the engagement between worm and wheel to be adjusted to nominal zero backlash for maximum accuracy. Some rotary tables are made so that the worm can easily be disengaged after loosening an obvious lever others have hidden binding devices to prevent folk fiddling with a factory or service tech set adjustment.

Usually you have to grab the worm and dial mount itself to make the adjustment.