What's new
What's new

Press Brakes

MSWsteel

Plastic
Hi, I just found this message board and spent hours reading. Great site.

I searched a good bit to see opinions on Press Brakes. I'm a small fabricator/manufacturer and I'm looking to pick up a brake instead of subbing out bending every time I need something bent. I'm going to be doing some more bending soon with a product I'm supposed to start making.

I have little knowledge in braking, I have been reading as much as I can as far as tonnage, point load, dies etc... My question is what Brake should I be looking for? I don't want a Chinese machine. Are Dreis Krump machines still made in America? Cincinati? It seems Betenbender, US industrial, and similar are all knockoff or overseas made. I'm wondering if the big names are made down the same street these days...

As far as older machines, I have no issue buying used but my lack of knowledge in Press brakes has me slightly concerned as to what I'm looking at, operation etc. Most of the used I have seen look like they had a very hard life.

I definitely want hydraulic. CNC sounds great but not necessary. I've read Dies are sometimes more expensive than the brakes, but I don't think I need much of a die inventory.

The main material being bent would be 11g mild steel, up to 8'6" long. 90 deg bends. Some smaller bends, maybe 16" long 11g but far less degree - for example. I think most commonly would be "coining" the 90 deg bends. The smaller would be air bent. Correct me if I'm wrong

I'm thinking 10' 125-ton range. Should give me some versatility.

Does anybody have any opinions on this matter? I'm open to all suggestions. I'm not looking to spent over 100k, but I'm also not expecting to pay 10k for a used machine that just works forever.

Thanks in advance

Stay away from Accurl or Moore Machine Tools.