What's new
What's new

Revolver aluminum underlug cutter question

Zip

Aluminum
I want to make an underlug for a 7" barreled S&W 686 revolver using aluminum 6061 bar stock. I am a hobbyist and after some online searches am not sure which cutter I need to make the radius cut in the picture. (FYI: that underlug in the picture is from a Manurhrin revolver). I have the tooling for the straight wall cuts.

Found lollipop, ball end etc cutters...but not sure what I need to make the radius. The barrel in this area measures .721 side to side.
Thanks

Attachments

• radius.JPG
    radius.JPG
    377 KB · Views: 6

mhajicek

Titanium
You have options. You could drill, plunge, or bore from the end, or lay it down and lollipop. In production they would likely use a custom cutter of the right size; failing that, I'd surface it with an undersized lollipop.

Last edited:

Zip

Aluminum
You have options. You could drill, plunge, or bore from the end, or lay it down and lollipop. In production they would likely use a custom cotter of the right size; failing that, I'd surface it with an undersized lollipop.
Thanks for the response....I'm working with a mini mill and need to know which cutter I would need .ie size and source. I'd make the square cuts first (end to end) then finish up with a lollipop (end to end)...ideally in the .725 range?

mhajicek

Titanium
Thanks for the response....I'm working with a mini mill and need to know which cutter I would need .ie size and source. I'd make the square cuts first (end to end) then finish up with a lollipop (end to end)...ideally in the .725 range?
When you say "mini mill", do you mean a Haas Mini-Mill? Or a small manual machine?

Zip

Aluminum
When you say "mini mill", do you mean a Haas Mini-Mill? Or a small manual machine?
Manual machine...been making a lot of high quality parts with it. Would like to locate some cutters (locally) like these.

Attachments

• 00707_77gvN0yI5FWz_0g80g8_600x450.jpg
    00707_77gvN0yI5FWz_0g80g8_600x450.jpg