What's new
What's new

Rotary table off center?

Asus

Aluminum
I'm working on a project to create a circular groove around a drill-through hole using a Sherline mill paired with a Sherline CNC rotary.
As a complete beginner with rotary tables, I'm seeking assistance here due to a recurring issue.
In most attempts, the grooves I cut are off-centered.

Timestamps and actions in the video:

0:00 - 0:21: Utilizing a dial indicator to sweep the inner hole and adjusting both x and y axes to achieve centering. I raised concerns as the indicator didn't move during the sweep. Did I perform this step correctly?
0:21 - 1:04: Testing the flex of the dial indicator by moving the probe up and down along the hole to assess changes in readings.
1:04 - 1:17: Further testing the functionality of the dial indicator by pushing the probe back and forth using a stick.
1:18 - 2:11: Conducting a pilot drill followed by a full drill-through.
2:11 - 3:07: Turning the x-axis 1/8 inch and activating the rotary to make a cut.

The end result consistently shows the groove being off-centered.
I've attempted this setup multiple times using different dial indicators, but it seems something is not right.
Please take a look at the video, and I would appreciate any insights on what might be causing this issue.

It looks like the plate is off center. You can sweep the center hole of the rotary all day, but if the plate is off center from the rotary you hole is going to be off center and that will through your trepan off center as well. Indicate the plate to center or scribe a center point in the plate to start your pilot hole. You could also make a set of jaws for the rotary as well.

When you machine a part on a rotary table you first indicate the center of the table with the indicator rotating in the machine spindle. second you indicate the part to the table turning the table like you would a part on a lathe.