What's new
What's new

Setting up a VFD to unknown motor

DennisPotter

Plastic
Hello, I am having A LOT of trouble getting a VFD working with a motor. I have no experience with VFDs but I have 20+ years of general workshop knowledge. The motor has no documentation or information except for “110V 1.2KW 2500RPM 21.04” I do not know what 12.04 means, perhaps the manufacture date? Motors has 3 wires + 1 ground wire.

I have looked up various things such as https://calculator.academy/hz-to-rpm-calculator/
So the motor should be around 62hz? When I set it to 110v and 60 or 62 hz it over currents immediately. It over current stops on a lot of settings I have tried.

When I set the VFD F009 to 380v and 165hz for F003, F004 and F005, the motor barely works. It over currents half the time and can not take any load. Trying to brute force changing the settings to something else that might work has failed, I have tried many different things. Tried changing F010 to a lot of different settings as well.

We are using the RATTMMOTOR 1.5KW VFD from Amazon. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09WJV3PM7?ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details&th=1

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Let me know if more information or pictures are needed.

Attachments

• 20240116_113504.jpg
    20240116_113504.jpg
    213.2 KB · Views: 23
  • 20240116_113521.jpg
    20240116_113521.jpg
    562.2 KB · Views: 21
  • 20240116_113546.jpg
    20240116_113546.jpg
    187 KB · Views: 22
  • 20240116_130428.jpg
    20240116_130428.jpg
    615 KB · Views: 18
if that is 3 phase would.t the voltage be around 64v per phase?
I would be really surprised to see a 3 phase 110 motor.

edit . I mean the supply side coming from the VFD.

Anything special or unique about the motor, because Id say to round file that motor and get one that will work with a typical vfd. I highly doubt that vfd will run that motor no matter how you set it. Its just pretty far outside the range of typical 3ph motors.

.3 Ohm between all 3 wires.