What's new
What's new

Sodick A320 don't power up

Kees

Hot Rolled
Joined
Feb 2, 2007
Location
Netherlands
I bought a 1994 Sodick wire EDM and installed it.This is what happend: Computer starts up, and power buttons works also.But i saw the pomp rotates the wrong direction, so I changed 2 wires. (380V 3phase).I also leveled the machine and filled the tank with water.But now the computer still starts, but no response from the power-button.No error messages also.Made the electric connection back as it was, but still not good. :(
What do I miss, is there a secret emergenty-stop, a hidden safety switch or something else that I don't know about?
Thanks for helping.
 

implmex

Titanium
Joined
Jun 23, 2002
Location
Vancouver BC Canada
Voltage wrong??

Hi Kees:
Is your machine wired for 380 volts?
Mine is certainly not...it was 208 volt 3 phase and I had to be within 5% of target voltage before the service tech would let me turn it on.
Check and make sure...unless the machines were re-wired for the European market you've probably fried something or popped an over voltage breaker somewhere in the machine.
You could talk to Larry Wetmore in California...he's very experienced on these machines and might be able to help.
He can be contacted through EDM Network.
A quick Google search will find him.
Cheers

Marcus
Implant Mechanix – Design & Innovation - home
 

Kees

Hot Rolled
Joined
Feb 2, 2007
Location
Netherlands
Marcus:
Thanks for your answer.Voltage is OK.The machine came with a transformer for various voltage.It has run with this at the previous owner and at my place, but I put the power on only for a short time because there was no water in the tank, I thought it had to be bad for the pump running dry.
I don't think anything is broken as it had run already but I believe it has to be something simple, like a switch in the wrong position, a safety divice (too much water, wire contact?) or something else that holds it back from powering up.
Found Larry's email , I'll give it a try.I also contacted the company who dilivered the machine, they don't know a solution either.They want to send a service-tech but it will come at a cost.
For me, the machine is to learn.I have no experience with EMD and there no production planned yet.That is why I want to keep the costs at a minimum.I just hope the Sodick is a good choice to start with.
 

implmex

Titanium
Joined
Jun 23, 2002
Location
Vancouver BC Canada
Sodick as a starter machine

Hi Kees:
The Sodick is a very good starter machine, simple to run, simple to program, cheap to fix.

Does the machine respond at all when you turn on the main power switch?
Does the machine start to boot up when you push the source button?
Are you running from floppies or does your machine have a hard drive?
Can you get all the way through the boot sequence to the homing screen?
Have you checked your incoming power inside the control cabinet as well as at the breaker box?
Are the four big red switches at the bottom of the cabinet all on?
Is current getting across the green power switch when you push it on?
Did you by chance turn off the pumps by flipping the pump switch on the tank by accident?
Those are the obvious things I can think of; if it's still dead after you've checked all the obvious things, you'll likely get back in business the fastest by contacting Larry W.


Cheers

Marcus
Implant Mechanix – Design & Innovation - home
 

Kees

Hot Rolled
Joined
Feb 2, 2007
Location
Netherlands
@ Marcus-Checked the points:
Does the machine respond at all when you turn on the main power switch?
-yep, it boots up.I got around 208V at the main switch.
Does the machine start to boot up when you push the source button?
-PC starts up.
Are you running from floppies or does your machine have a hard drive?
-floppies
Can you get all the way through the boot sequence to the homing screen?
-from the first sceen I choose manual, I haven't homed the machine yet.
Have you checked your incoming power inside the control cabinet as well as at the breaker box
-Looks all fine.
Are the four big red switches at the bottom of the cabinet all on?
-I checked them and all on.
Is current getting across the green power switch when you push it on?
-did not checked this one.
Did you by chance turn off the pumps by flipping the pump switch on the tank by accident
-might be, there are some tiny switches not sure what those are doing.Tried a few positions, no result.Checked the water pump overlaod switch, removed the sensor out of the watertank.No result.
I got stuck at this screen:

SS850960.jpg


SS850961.jpg


Running out of ideas now....

BTW I looked at your website.Your work is pretty impressive!
 

Kees

Hot Rolled
Joined
Feb 2, 2007
Location
Netherlands
For those who are interested; the big search goes on, and I got this far:

I've been able to trace the problem, turns out a power source failed, the RS-9-12 . I replaced it and voila: the machine runs again.....for 10 minutes.Then the new powersource also failed!So there must be another prblem causing this problem.

Sodicks are not an easy fix, that's for sure!
 

Milacron

Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 15, 2000
Location
SC, USA
I don't know what your problem is, but FWIW, if your NEC computer ever stops booting up...unlike the dipwads in Sodick service who just want to sell you a refurbished NEC (for a 1994 PC that ought to cost $25 in Japan but is unobtanium in the USA except at Sodick) I can tell you why :)
 

Kees

Hot Rolled
Joined
Feb 2, 2007
Location
Netherlands
I don't know what your problem is, but FWIW, if your NEC computer ever stops booting up...unlike the dipwads in Sodick service who just want to sell you a refurbished NEC (for a 1994 PC that ought to cost $25 in Japan but is unobtanium in the USA except at Sodick) I can tell you why :)

I will keep that in mind. For me it's now an lesson in electronics but learning it the hard way. But some day that @#[email protected] machine will run again!
 

Kees

Hot Rolled
Joined
Feb 2, 2007
Location
Netherlands
The story goes on: I replaced the power source with a new, bit more powerfull one. And it does hold. So far so good. So I made the machine ready for a test and then it happens: another break down! The x-axis stopped working.:mad5:
And I found out there are no electronic/elektrik drawings to found......for a machine I have never worked with.Very very hard to find the problem, and no one seems to be able to help me.(" just buy a new motor/drive/etc it might solve the problem") After many trying and swopping parts from the Y-axis I brought the cause of the problem back to only a few items: an interface-card, input-output card or the PC. I demounted the interface card and took it to an electronic specialist.
And he found a bad capacitor. After replacement the unbelieveable happend: the machine works again!Just a 25 cents electronic component kept the hole machine to an hold... This was by far the toughest repair I've ever done.
I am still cautious but the machines seems OK for now. Up to the next episode, learning to work with the machine instead of repairing it.
 

Galanty00

Plastic
Joined
Jan 6, 2022
Larry's Email address

Hi I'm having some problems with my A325 to start up, can you give me Larry's email?
Thanks in Advance
 

Luke.kerbey

Cast Iron
Joined
Mar 2, 2019
Shane, to be fair, I speak to all the Sodick techs that come in my tool room and they see our A320 and tell us about all the places in the UK that still have them and apparently run them for an actual profit still!

Apart from ours leaking like a sieve, it’s not bad for 28 years old. We keep ours for small jobs when the main wirer is busy.
 








 
Top