What's new
What's new

Soluble cutting fluid hazards

Jaydee

Plastic
I’ve been using a small toolroom type mill and lathe for about 10 years in my own workshop, I use water soluble cutting fluid

I’ve never given much thought to breathing in the vapour from the cutting, should I be concerned?

I use a low pressure pump and an air-gun just to remove the swarf

I’m normally good on health & safety (Eye & ear), but never considered the cutting fluid as hazardous other than dermatitis

I’ve never given much thought to breathing in the vapour from the cutting, should I be concerned?

I've been breathing it in for 35 years. I'm still alive and kicking! :codger:

:knock on wood:

Honestly though, unless you're huffing big clouds of it on the regular I wouldn't worry too much about the mist droplets in the air. Sure you could get a mist collector if it's that bad.
But typically just use the air gun to blast away the smoke and mist.

Can’t say I get too much smoke, (its more steam from the cutter), but my workshop is tiny

My lathe only has a top speed of 750rpm and the miller is 2100rpm so its not exactly high speed cutting!

I’ve worked in a few tool rooms and on capstan lathes over the years and never had any measures for extraction.

Last edited:
I used to use KoolMist, and my shop would soon fill with a dense mist bank, and it caused me to cough and things started to rust, so I got the correct 3M face-mask for oil mists et al. This did work, even if I looked like a WW1 soldier in Flanders Field. And things still rusted.

So KoolMist was too much trouble, and didn't work well on heavier cuts, so I switched to Rustlick WS-5050 soluble oil in drip/flood. Much better; still use it. It has caused me no problems, even though I do get it on my hands from time to time.