What's new
What's new

Source for oddball sized acme nut? 3D-print one instead?

JeffThompson

Plastic
Maybe a long-shot, but I'm restoring an old machine with a strange leadscrew size: 3/4" x 3. The original nut was cast in babbitt and is really stripped and needs to be replaced. Re-casting the babbitt seems expensive (I've never done it before so I'd need the putty, a crucible, etc) and doesn't seem ideal anyway. I'd like to replace it with a new bronze, etc nut – I'd machine one myself but don't have access to a lathe that can single-point it and a tap is $$$$ even if I could find one.

I've looked on the usual places like McMaster but that thread is unusual and I can't find anyone that stocks that size. Any suggestions on places to look?

Alternatively, I'm considering a 3D-printed nut. The leadscrew is under very low load (it's a back-stop for paper-cutting machine) so I think it would hold up ok. Anyone had experience trying this?

Any help or suggestions appreciated!

Are you sure on 3/4-3? That would make the minor diameter of the screw pretty small, only .417". If it is 3tpi and under little load, a 3d printed nut should work fine for a while.

Unless you're restoring this machine for posterity it seems sensible to replace the screw and nut with something more current and available. On the other hand, using the proper material, printing a nut for a low stress application could work..as long as it truly is light duty.

Stuart

Lining the existing with a new coat of babbitt is not as difficult as you think. It is why it was done that way in the first place - it certainly gives a "failure point" should one have both change feed and lead-screw inadvertently connected together.