What's new
What's new

Stub Acme, what is it?

Art K

Aluminum
I am a hobbyist so be gentle. :rolleyes:

I look in Machinery's Handbook and I can't seem to tell what the significance is between regular Acme and Stub Acme. Can someone educate me on any significant differences? When would I want one over the other?

Thanks in advance!
-Art K

toolmakerjim

Titanium
Art;
its been my experience that Acme threads are used for power transmission such as rifling machines, barrel presses, to straighten gun barrels.
now the stub acme threads that i have been associated were for warhead installation on anti personell bazookas (SMAW).
these threads were in aluminum and its my opinion that the stub acme is just a stronger application of a thread.
there is a great difference in the actual form of the 2 threads with the stub obviously being smaller in cross section.
hope this helps in some small way...jim

Art K

Aluminum
Thanks Toolmakerjim. Now I can take a closer look at Machinery's Handbook. I appreciate the reply.

Regards,
-Art K

bluchip

Stainless
Along the same lines as Toolmakerjim stated, I was under the impression that standard Acme was for power transmission or dynamic purposes, (adjustable tie bars on presses, vises, etc.) and stub was a more permanent situation...where assemblies are screwed together and not meant for disassembly. The stub form would be not only stronger but would allow a thread on thin walled material like a collar or cap threaded on a tube. Is a form of this used on well casings in the oil industry? EZ

Forrest Addy

The proportions of the stub Acme threads are the same as full depth Acme except in the depth calculation and the tool width. The stub Acme has 60% the depth of the general purpose Acme thread. In Machinery's handbook the illustration and formulae for full depth and stub Acme are combined. The designators, the tolerance and class of fit formulae are the same.